We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sinking Island”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocos

Cocos
Ranked #37 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Cocos Island Grill offers a wide variety of meals ranging from Breakfasts and sharing meals to starters and succulent sea and land food mains. We have an international standard cocktail bar with 10! Locally brewed draughts on tap. Enjoy the spectacular first floor view from our terrace or at one of our many window seats... So whether its you and friends or the whole family, feel welcome to relax and enjoy Cocos life.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sinking Island”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Poor service, oily tasteless and raw food. Nice views over the ocean, but not worth the visit. Oh and malfunctioning card machine.

Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos H, General Manager at Cocos, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Erika and thanks for posting a review... I am concerned as to why you paid for this supposedly raw, tasteless and oily food that you managed to eat? I am truly astounded at how you have worded this "complaint"..... none the less I invite you to visit COCOS again sometime and if there are any problems to please bring this to the attention of the manager on duty or at the very least to your waiter. battering a restaurant like you have without giving details or having complained at the time is an insult to common intelligence and simply impolite. we have a very varied menu including grilled, steamed, roasted and fried food, I would urge you to choose dishes that suit your taste better in future. We are a restaurant, not your bank... if your card fails to work then there really isn't much that can be done by us other than to direct you to the ATM (10 meters from our door). lastly, I hardly think you are in a position to say that we are a sinking island? please keep your insults to yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    124
    58
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Superb views. Good beer. Banging Wallbanger. Great snack platter. Pity, no WiFi access today......................

Helpful?
Thank Thys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is the place I come to, to relax, to view the view over Walker Bay, and the best place to watch the Southern Right Whales. Great Breakfast deals, good cocktails, great snack platters and great cuppacino's

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PamBB938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
415 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW - GOOD FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Cocos has a wonderful location in central Hermanus overlooking the bay, Voelklip and the shores beyond. The menu is varied and the food we had was good. The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. During the season, it must be one of the best whale-watching locations but, even without whales, it is a lovely spot to dine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great view ! Good place to eat !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were there several times while we stayed in Hermanus.
The food was always very good !
The view on the ocean is breathtaking.
The staff is very friendly.
We will come again!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarionMMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocos also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing