We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!”
Review of La Pentola

La Pentola
Ranked #8 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: La Pentola established in 1995 has a breath taking panoramic view of Walker Bay, the birthing ground of Southern Right Whales. The perfect venue for executive chef/owner Shane Sauvage's authentic fusion cuisine. All food is prepared to order, using only the very best quality ingredients, real butter, fresh cream and fresh herbs.Yes absolutely no MSG! The menu by internationally renowned executive Chef/ Patron & award winning author Shane Sauvage,comprises of a large variety of fresh seafood & Abalone, free range cuts of beef (KWV Fillet, Tender T-Bone, exotic game dishes, a great selection of vegetarian fare (Aztec Mushrooms) and a decadent selection of in-house deserts (Chocolate Terrine). La Pentola offers a Diamond award wine list with a large variety of local and international wines. We are an A la Carte restaurant that also caters for corporate functions, intimate weddings and special occasions. Open Monday to Sunday Lunch & Dinner.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was my favorite during our time in Hermanus.

The staff were so welcoming and friendly from the greeting to the farewell. We had a choice of tables and chose one next to the fire place. It was perfect for a very cold evening. The music in the background and the muted lighting make for a lovely warm atmosphere.

Our waitress explained the menu very well and we chose our starters with hungry bellies. My salmon was simply Devine and deserves its status as a house speciality. The snails and the mushroom parcel were also very good with the mushroom parcel being declared the favorite of the two. It's the combination of flavours and the crunchy pastry that gave it the edge over the snails.

Our main courses were difficult to choose but we decided on the ostrich steak with a KWV sauce and the Mozambique prawns. The ostrich is unbelievable! Never have we tasted such perfectly cooked meat with the most amazing flavour of the grill. The sauce was delicious with the steak and I finished every last bit. The prawns and the rice were so good, I thought my husband would lick the plate. The chef is truly talented at getting the flavours in the sauce spot on.

By now we were very full but pressed on as one of the dessert specials was a pancake with a trio of honey. Honey drizzle, honey fudge, honey comb. The homemade vanilla ice cream was delicious and we loved the crunchy honey comb with a crepe so thin you could almost see through it. We enjoyed our dessert with an Italian connection which is prepared at the table with much showmanship. The waitress was very good at explaining the history behind the drink and it added to the enjoyment. My coffee was disappointing as it wasn't warm enough. I didn't say anything as we were having a lovely time and I didn't want to spoil it.

We enjoyed meeting the chef and chatting, we were shown his recipe books which are great.

On leaving we decided that if return to Hermanus we will definitely enjoy another meal at La Pentola. A summer meal must be a real treat with the windows open and the beautiful view being part of the meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lipps74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    245
    98
    49
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Browsed around Hermanus a bit and stumbled upon La Pentola. What a nice spot! Loved the view and food was great, I met both of the Chef's Shane and Hugo, great hostess/head waiter, Courtney and my waitress Tanja was just great, from wine recommendations to food and naturally, the Chocolate Terrine! Will be back!!
They are closed on Mondays (my 1st night in Hermanus) but went there on Wednesday night. Would also recommend to go before sunset for a drink and getting a table next to the window.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Bad Service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Obviously the restaurant staff is left to their own devices, as no owner or manager is around. Our waiter Nick had such a bad attitude, his service was appaling, and on top of that he took 25 minutes to bring our change. He could have come to ask us to pay with the card because they didn't have cash for our change, but instead he was just walking around the kitchen while we waited without any explanation. Only when we complained AGAIN, did he bother to go to another shop to find change. Did he think he would get 65% tip ? he got nothing in the end, and we hope he knows why.
The food was just "ok", we ordered Fettuccine Alfredo and got Spaghetti, when we asked he just said "those are our fettuccine" - well, they have a lot to learn about Italian pasta.
Would never go there again, nor take any of our tourists ! (we are both Tour Guides)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review.I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with Nick he was part of our under privileged youth development program and has been dealt with.I just find it strange for you to say that the staff are left to their own devices as Myself and my manager were both at work on Sunday lunch perhaps you did not recognize us as we both wear chefs uniforms and were in the kitchen most of the time.My assistant Hugo wearing a chef's jacket also came out to you and informed you that Nick had gone to get you change & presented you with a complementary liqueur to apologize for the inconvenience.The lunch special is in fact "Spaghetti Alfredo" so that is perhaps how the misunderstanding transpired.So I do feel you have left out some vital facts in your review or perhaps you were so irritated with Nick you forgot meeting Hugo & enjoying your complimentary drinks by the window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The top hat chef and friendly staff made our night out one of the best. The food was Devine with a good selection of wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a good surprise”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The food is good.
Serice excellent
The why the food is served is beautiful
The ambiance and setting great and the chef mixes with customers.
The pricing is not over the top
A must to experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susandph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing