We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, nice food and very friendly owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutchies

Dutchies
Ranked #14 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Stukje Nederland aan een zonovergoten strand. In de maanden oktober en november liggen de walvissen te paren of te baren in de baai. Huisgemaakte Kroketten, bitterballen en garnalen kroketten zijn hier de Hollandse specialiteit. Ontbijt , lunch en diner met uitzicht op het prachtige strand, de zee in een natuurreservaat.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great view, nice food and very friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were advised to take a stroll along the sea towards Dutchies by our guesthouse owners, and were happy that we did. It was a quiet Tuesday afternoon, which allowed us a great view of the whales. We had lunch here and enjoyed the sun. The owners came by for a chat and were very helpful in giving us advice on what to do in Cape Town and the wine region. Go visit Dutchies when you're in Hermanus!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    245
    65
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Consistantly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have been visiting this restaurant for years and always been more than satisfied. Now under new ownership it is just as good, if not even better than before. We always go for the steak, salad and french fries. For us it is the best steak in town. The new owners are friendly and the waiting staff are great at their jobs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mijdrecht
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good value for money, perfect location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

the restaurant is small bit very cosy. They try to let you feel special and really, in our case they succeeded very well., we felt like old and welcome friends.
Prices are very normal and when you ordered something that is not quite to your taste, they will do their utmost to change things for the better.
We came here for a dinner but came back a lot of times.
Really this is a place worth to visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Located right on the beach. Friendly owner who gave us tips as the where to watch whales, and she was spot on. Lovely food, cosy atmosphere

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank inge c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
643 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We ate here since it was so close to where we were staying. We got an excellent table inside (it is quite cramped, so booking is probably essential if you want an inside table). The food was very good and the service was very efficient. The manager (owner?) came around each table to check that people were happy which ensures everyone has a good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutchies also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Dutchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing