We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite South African Restaurant”
Review of Dutchies

Dutchies
Ranked #12 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: European, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Stukje Nederland aan een zonovergoten strand. In de maanden oktober en november liggen de walvissen te paren of te baren in de baai. Huisgemaakte Kroketten, bitterballen en garnalen kroketten zijn hier de Hollandse specialiteit. Ontbijt , lunch en diner met uitzicht op het prachtige strand, de zee in een natuurreservaat.
Callander, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Favourite South African Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We're a Canadian couple who've been traveling SA since Nov 1, 2013. Dutchies is our favourite SA restaurant (5 visits in total to Dutchies for a breakfast, a lunch and 3 dinners) because of people like Nathan and Clive and Sita and Joke - you were all so hospitable towards us, making us feel like we were part of your regular clientele; and because of the food - so good, hang on to that chef; and lastly because of the great location on Grotto Beach. We spent the last days of our SA adventure in Hermanus and your restaurant was tops. Congrats!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canucks1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    259
    73
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Poor service”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

With friends from Nam.... took 15min and still no beer forthcoming. Manager ignored us and waiter said that there are other tables...... total tables with patrons...4... we left. Will never do again

Helpful?
Thank Shelldon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not the fanciest , but the right food at the right time (and a good view)”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

When we went to Dutchies, we had a fairly long trip behind us (Camps Bay to Hermanus). Plus we went to a really swanky restaurant the evening before and we really craved simple, honest food. Enter Dutchies.
Situated right at the beach they immediately started their out door heating thing so we could enjoy the view of the surf while eating our excellent seafood (the girlfrind) and burger (me).
Beer was also good. All in all, if you find yourself in Hermanus and you just want simple comfort food with an amazing view, Dutchies is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moritz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Prime spot on the beach”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This restaurant came recommended to us and we called there just after midday.We ordered three different meals from the menu only to be told sorry sold out on these. This says they are very busy or they are under ordering on their stocks I don,t know which? anyway we just had to settle for a plate of chips and drinks,but never mind it was a lovely day and good to be sitting there watching the world go by. Different to where we are now, back in darkest England on a cold damp November night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Nice place, good food”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Dutchies is a very nice restaurant, beautifully located at the border of the Indian Ocean. It's a warm and cosy ambiance, very friendly staff. The owners are Dutch and their story of realising their dream with this restaurant is impressive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutchies also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Dutchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing