We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This”

Fernkloof Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$81.31*
and up
Full-Day Whale Watching in Hermanus from Cape Town
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It's easy to only look at whales, when in this area, and the wonderful offerings that the sea gives, but this is a fabulous place for a very peaceful walk with fabulous views

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186478Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    98
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday Hike - A Blast”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Wow... Not only was it a breathtaking day (a huge plus) but our hike ended in one of the best views I've ever experienced at Galpin Hut. It took us about 2 hours to get there but our group was more than happy to put in the effort.

Lovely place to go for picnics too but I suggest a lot of sunscreen and water. And bring a camera!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great place for various lengths of hikes”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There are many lengths of hikes one can take here from about 90 minutes to several hours. You could go for less time, but probably do not reach an elevation to see the ocean from the trails. We had great views of the Sugarbirds. The waterfall on that trail was not the best feature of the trail. It requires a lot of upward hiking that is great exercise, but is not for those who want something that is a very easy walk. We are in our late 50s and 60s and felt we got our exercise without overdoing it. We did not have time for visiting all of the features of the park. The great thing is that you will not spend much money here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mamiya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always worth the effort, a hike up the various sides of the mountain provides panoramic views of the equally spectacular beach, coastline and bay. In winter, take a pair of binoculars to check the whales in the water below. In spring, take in the proteas of all varieties in bloom on the slopes and in the little valleys. In summer, rest aside the waterfall. On a clear day in winter, take enough water and nourishment for a leisurely stroll up to Galpin Peak under a sun that is still hot, but more tolerable than in summer. And always check in at the information centre, and marvel about the variety you will see or have seen.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HunterBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot in a small place.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

In this small nature reserve there are 1640 flowering plant species - more than the entire British Isles. Entry is free and the maintenance is mostly done or overseen by the Hermanus Botanical Society and Fernkloof Advisory Board and they do an excellent job. On entering the gate - no entrace fees! - the part on your left towards the mountain slope is Nature as Mother Nature made it. Nothing was planted or sown there. On your right, you will see trees and those were planted about half a century ago when it was fashionable 'to plant Nature' with trees from other parts of the Cape. Further up on your right are more plants indigenous to South Africa and the area is divided into 'medicinal plants', 'aromatic plants', 'succulents' etc. Drive or walk to the end of the tar road and you will find a small building with a display of an amazing variety of flowers that are in bloom now. Next week, it will be different. From there the walks along 56 Km. of mountain trails spread out to explore the far reaches of the reserve. The other part that is incorporated, is the coastal cliff walk with another variety of plants and topography. The high cliffs are on the Western end of the 12 km walk and is the drier part and towards the East it gets lower and wetter and ends with Milkwood forest at Grotto Beach. All together almost to much to absorb in one day. From August to November one may see Southern Right Whales in the bay and sometimes within a hundred metres or less from the rocks. Although I've visited it many times, there is always something I haven't seen before. I can recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fernkloof Nature Reserve also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fernkloof Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing