We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and more than affordable!”

Lembu Gallery & Studio
Ranked #9 of 45 things to do in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A gallery specializing in fine art and craft. Studio for resident artist Ed Bredenkamp who is well known for his dramatic "Red Elephants". Locally crafted ceramics, glassware and jewellery. A wide range of colourful hand printed African fabrics individually produced in an adjacent studio. Visit our studio where you can watch the fabrics being printed and custom order your own fabrics by choosing from our library of designs. Shipping available.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and more than affordable!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a treat this gallery truly is! Ed, Ian and Lorraine make you feel quite at home and under no pressure to browse slowly through the gallery filled with the most amazing things I have only ever seen there! Their knowledge is great and they support the true african artists making it a wonderful african experience. The artwork is to die for and resembles the african experience that we all so love and want to take home with us. Shipping is no problem for them, even glass gets sent around the world in one piece. Let this shop be there forever and all my visits to this amazing country!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roxyhartcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect arts and crafts boutique!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ed and Ian, along with their helper, Lorraine, are three of the nicest people you could meet. They have an impressive collection of African art work and know the history of each piece. Ed is the painter of beautiful red elephants, and Ian does creative block printing on fabric. They will bend over backwards to help you and not bother you with sales pitches.
Please drop in this wonderful store and say hi!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank susanmalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seek and ye shall find...”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Amazing, unique, personal gifts from around Africa for all ages. The store itself is a treasure. Art, jewelry, statues, sculpture, stonework, figurines, tapestry, fabrics/linen, etc... Every item has a story and is chosen by the owners (whom are also artists-in-residence). You can also have a tour of the working studio. We were so happy to have fortunately made a last minute decision to go into "one more shop." We came back the next day as well and filled our suitcases with truly memorable and meaningful presents for our loved ones (and ourselves.) I'm so in love with my Zimbabwean Shona stone sculpture.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Razzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy Chance”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

One of my favorite things about my recent trip to South Africa were the wonderful people we met along the way. What a happy chance that they were one of the few shops still open in Hermanus as we were walking back to our car. We thought we would pop in and take a look. There hadn't been much time for shopping on this trip. From the moment we walked in, we were delighted. The warm colors, the stained glass fish, the interesting artwork and jewelry. It was a pleasure meeting Lorraine, Ian and Ed. I learned so much from them about the artwork they feature in addition to the work that's done at the gallery itself by Ed and Ian and the the fabric art team. We returned the following day to make all our purchases and spent several hours there chatting some more and learning some more. This is a must-stop shop in Hermanus, even if you're just passing through. If I am ever so lucky as to be back in that part of the world again, you can be sure I will be spending several more hours with my new friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Godmotheress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

No visit to Hermanus can be complete without a visit to this wonderful gallery and studio. A visit here is a wonderful experience and you will be hard pushed to come away without some original and exquisite pieces of art, be they originals or limited editions. Ed and Ian are delightful and enrich this experience greatly - their passion for what they do is amazing. We need a bigger house to enable us to add to our growing collection of Ed's art, Lembu prints and wall hangings and general beautiful African pieces of art.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lembu Gallery & Studio also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Lembu Gallery & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing