We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not eat here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Remo Spur Steak Ranch

San Remo Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #88 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at San Remo Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Hermanus. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Visited this restaurant because there always seemed to plenty of people eating here, but that is not the case, because the staff place everyone in the window seats and the place which is huge, is practically empty on entering. We ordered our meal and on its arrival (steak pritzel) found it to be inedible, we complained to the waitress who stated that lots of people had complained about this particular dish! and then offered to change it for an alternative meal which we did.The food served here is unappetising and is of a very poor standard.

I would not eat in this establishment again, very poor value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    6
    12
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What service?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been to Spur a few times in the past few weeks, hoping that something would be different. Every time the service was non-existent - we sat without drinks for a good half an hour, without the waitress even coming near to us for us to flag her down. They all seemed too busy chatting amongst themselves to actually do any work. The food isn't as good as it used to be either. I would say that every staff member needs retraining or perhaps start afresh with a new bunch, but remember to train them properly first!! Even on the way in and out the door, the person at the front desk did not bother to greet us. Sounds like a wasted salary! I will definitely not be going back for another round of incompetence and sub-standard food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spur is good simple food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The spur is fast food served well b quick and efficient staff. Food is of good choice and is moderately priced and particularly good for children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my family went to the Spur steak ranch in Hermanus on 2 july 2013 for my baby daughters 1st birthday. The place where dirty and the knifes and forks on the table was in a terrible state. The place where empty so there was no excuse for the nun existing service we got. No jokes I waited a hour for my food.. everyone else on my table finished there food and when they wanted to go home I haven't eaten yet.. so I went home hungry. The food we did receive was disgusting. I will never support Spur franchise again. The manager told me he is the owner's son.. I wouldn't say that out load.. its a shame that he thinks its ok leaving paying customers

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinEtsebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Remo Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to San Remo Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing