We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Having recently stayed at Royal Malewane we were expecting Birkenhead to be equally spectacular as it has the same owners. Althought the terraced area at the back of the hotel does have a spectacular view the rest of the hotel looks out over a charmless suburb and is so close to the other buildings that you have to keep many of the shutters closed in the rooms for privacy.

There is no air conditioning, the rooms are on the small side and are decorated in a random and somewhat dated fashion. The food is ok but the menu is fixed and did not change during our stay which made the dining experience quite repetitive. Given the fact that the hotel was so small one felt on top of other guests and it could be a chore to find a comfortable place to sit outside overlooking the water.

On the plus side, the view from the terrace is gorgeous and the Staff does make a huge effort. They set up tables on the terrace for breakfast and are extremely accomodating about special requests. There are fabulous beach walks and a nearby nature reserve where you can go hiking. If one wants to visit Hermanus then this is probably the place to stay but with hindsight we might have skipped this stop altogether as we didn't find the town charming and the beaches although beautiful were quite crowded.

Room Tip: Don't go unless you can get a room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    23
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
300
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Third visit perfect location overlooking the ocean and third time lucky southern wright Wales
Fantastic staff sumptuous rooms
Very good food but not as good as last 2 visits but still excellent longer Michelin star standard
A must stay hotel we plan to be back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just left after a couple of idyllic days in this hotel. Feels like visiting old friends. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Rooms are beautiful with great views over the bay and whale watching from the balcony thrown in. Food and drink included in the package and of the highest standard. Was hard to tear ourselves away. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanDMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here three nights in October 2011. We had just been married at La Residence (review posted) which is a sister property to Birkenhead House. Upon arrival we were immediately given a tour of the property by a lovely man named Ricardo, dressed in white linen, who then escorted us to our room. Our room was gorgeous with sweeping views over the ocean. We were in Room 1 (The Honeymoon Suite) which was at the very front of the property with unobstructed views of the ocean and what a thrill to sit on our balcony watching whales breaching, very exciting. The rooms here are not huge (unlike other properties we stayed in South Africa) but are beautifully appointed. Housekeeping and service was perfection.

All meals and drinks are included here and the food was excellent and the selection of wines quite good. You can order more premium bottles at an extra expense if you wish.

The highlight of our stay in this region (and even the highlight of our whole trip to South Africa) was Great White Shark cage diving. The hotel arranged this for us and provided transfer to and from the location (40 min away) and they also made sure that the moment we arrived back on shore from our drive that a hotel car would be there waiting for us, nice.

The town of Hermanus is cute with numerous art galleries to tour. We walked to town along the ocean and admired the gorgeous views and gorgeous homes hugging the cliffs.

This is a luxury property in a beautiful setting and a very unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

From the very moment we arrived at Birkenhead House we knew we had found somewhere very special. Our room was fabulous (number 10) and there are lots of special touches. It is an all inclusive hotel and this includes any laundry. The food was really delicious and no problem with special requests. The service and all staff fantastic. The setting is just beautiful and you can walk along the cliff path into town (about 5km at least) which was fabulous as we could see the whales. We only stayed 2 nights and wished we were staying longer. When we did leave we were waved off by about 7 staff and given water for the journey. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have now stayed at Birkenhead three times and it always lives up to expectations.
The atmosphere is just lovely, the setting and accomodation really special and the food excellent.
The all inclusiveness makes for total relaxation .........
The chef made every effort to please us even asking us if we would like something different from the menu. The quality is very high and the service is exceptional both it its professionalism and its genuine warmth.
I was unlucky enough to have an asthma attack when I was there and the staff took everything out my hands oraganising a doctor's appointment taking me there and back and giving us the most lovely dinner in our room that night.
The whales were just out the door , the FernKloof nature reserve a short shuttle away and all in all it's one of our very favourite places in the world.
Thank you Shane and team for another wonderful time

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The room was amazing and looked just like it does on the website. The food was exceptional and we loved the chef coming out to describe the menu to us each evening. The service was faultless it was always there but never in your face so the balance was just right. Location is just amazing we watched whales breaching and swimming from our sunbeds and didn't even need binoculars they were that close!! We also did a whale watching trip which hotel organised and was well worth it. We didn't bother going into hermanus there was no need when you are at this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Property: Birkenhead House
Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing