We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely all-inn stay”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“lovely all-inn stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, saw the wails.... Lovely room (number 5), lovely staaf, all inclusive (even the laundry) super lunch and dinner, super vieuws, super wine..... we will be back soon for a longer stay

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lierke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    23
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
303
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed in room 9 and woke up at 7am to hear a building site in full swing, to be fair the hotel had left a note in the room and advised that they had advised Carrier our UK agent (who in my opinion are sadly lacking). I was very surprised the manager Shane didn't make contact when I told reception we were checking out, albeit I had met him serving breakfast.
Suffice to say we only stayed the one night and moved back to the Delaire Graff..
The staff are extremely pleasant and the food is fine. All that said the hotel is quite tired (peeling paintwork and grubby sofa's) - not really a boutique hotel. The room we had was very small and very limited in respect of dressing room space, the TV is not the easiest to operate but Alistair came to my rescue and managed to program S Africa v Scotland.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 9 irrespective of the building works the room is tiny and you have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We revisited Birkenhead House as we loved it before . It did not disappoint . It is like staying with friends in a lovely house . The rooms are all lovely , with great attention to detail ( decanters of brandy and whiskey on a table ) . All the rooms and decor are different , but best of all was our view . The sea , with whales jumping out of the water visible from our balcony .
The food is fabulous , the house wines amazing and the staff are genuine ,friendly and work very hard behind the scenes to make your stay effortless. Loved it . Am going back . ( if you want the whales , check to make sure they are there !)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel really can't be beaten if you like small hotels with thoughtful facilities, excellent hosting, delicious foods and wines (all included) and fabulous views and opportunities to view whales from your bedroom balcony.

Room Tip: Rooms one (larger) and two have fabulous rooms. Don't book them as I would like to book them nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We love this hotel.
Yes it is a luxury choice but it never disappoints and it is truly worth every penny .
The staff are fantastic, the food is delicious, the feeling of being looked after but never fussed over makes it sooo relaxing.
It's beautiful too with amazing indoor and ourdoor spaces and so many well thought out touches. And there is so much to do if you like walking or watching or just pottering ...

Somehow the staff think of everything and yet it all comes across with a genuine spirit of hospitality and warmth.
We leave always planning our next visit

Room Tip: it's lovely to have a full sea view but we have stayed in three different rooms now and they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Surroundings : Sat on the cliff tops overlooking Walker Bay with panoramic views out to Hermanus. Room 2 cosy with dual balconies ensured a first-class seat to the whales frolicking and the gathering of lunch (mussels).
Lovely communal living area with fireplace for chillier evenings and terrace with pool for warmer days.
Service : Super attentive and made you feel part of the Birkenhead Family. All Inclusive. Passionate and knowledgable chefs and servers took the time to get to know you and help make recommendations. From booking tours (Loved the Whale Watching) to remembering your itinerary everyone there went out of their way to ensure you didn't have to think about anything other than having a lovely time.
Special Touches : On our last evening (as we enjoyed dinner) the turndown service included running a bath and setting up a late night picnic of wine and chocolate strawberries. Leaving Birkenhead felt like saying farewell to good friends (and we'd only been there 2 nights).
Sidebar : Nothing we would change about this place. If you're looking to be spoilt this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 2 : wonderful views, smaller room. Large bathroom. Worth it just for the views alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkerHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It was our first time at Birkenhead House but we were greeted as old friends when we arrived. The location is stunning. We saw several whales just minutes after we arrived. The rooms are beautiful, the food and service exceptional. The best club sandwich I ever had. Can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbulfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Property: Birkenhead House
Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing