We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic and peaceful..”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here in January. Our three rooms had a totally different style, all unique and interesting! The staff was friendly and helpful. They had a transfer to Hermanus. Lots of nice photo books and art in all rooms!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Birkenhead House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed a couple of days at the Birkenhead House & Villa last October/November 2013.
In a nutshell: one of the best places we ever stayed in!

We had the luxury to enjoy a couple of the rooms in the house itself and one night at the villa (next door). All of them came with an individual charm.
The food, the atmosphere, the hospitality and -last but surely not least- the crew... all like a sherry on top of the cake!!!
BIG THANK YOU to the staff (Esdea, Crissy, Kris, Ricardo and Shane).

Impossible to rank this accommodation negatively.

We highly recommend the Birkenhead House & Villa and hope to be back during the course of 2014.

Happy new year from D & N ;-)

Room Tip: Book early in advance and even if you can only spent a night ... go for it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Another perfect stay here. As soon as you walk through the front door, you think they have mapped you from the road & a glass of bubbles arrives in your hand....and frok there on in, the great service continues.

Shane, Kristi & the whole team are welcoming, accommodating, efficient & just wonderful!

The house has a very relaxed feel & the service is personal but unobtrusive.

Forgotten to get your top pressed? No worries. 3 minutes later, it has reappeared.....pressed.

One night, some friends we met there didn't like what was in the menu, but fancied a steak. The kitchen staff bobbed out & got one for him. (For me thats above & beyond!!) If you fancy something, just let them know & they will sort it.

We struggled to get in here for a few years & we are really pleased that we book enough in advance now to get in, as our lives are all the richer for being at this amazing property.

The views are captivating. Sunset with a glass of Chardonnay....you don't want to be anywhere else.

Thanks guys @ Birkenhead for another wonderful stay and have a wonderful 2014 (try & win that award off La Res!!)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just spent Christmas there and it was terrific. It lives up to its reputation. The staff couldn't be better and they are very attentive on an individual basis. We also had several spa treatments that were great too. We chose the full board option and the food was fabulous. We liked it so much that we went to visit La Residence to try it next. You won't regret reservations here!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 and had a great view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a very pricey resort with an excellent staff who attends to your every want and need. Nice location even if beside a public parking lot for swimmers and beach walkers. You don't really notice this once inside the resort. We watched the whales go by from our deck in the early a m. Very beautiful views. The meals which are included were presented very artistically yet were very bland and lacked flavors for most items for all meals.Seemed to be a major flaw for this 5 star resort. I mentioned this at another 5 star hotel I stayed at after this and they had heard about the tasteless food so this has been an issue for a while it seems. We still had a relaxing and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Non parking lot side would be preferrible.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I own a bespoke travel company and was lucky enough to have stayed for a night in the villa 2 years ago but now I was returning with my husband for 2 nights on holiday. I wished it could have been longer ! maybe next year ?
Amazing attention to detail in the hotel which is part of The Royal Portfolio. All staff were excellent very friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble - all under the supervision of Shane the GM.
All meals were included and were exceptional
The hotel is situated 5kms from the actual town of Hermanus and there's a cliff top walk from the hotel which we did one morning to try and work off some calories !
The views from the hotel are breath taking and we were lucky to see some whales in the bay as well even although it was December.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was awed and totally impressed by the 5 star greeting, the over-the-top amenities, the highly professional staff, location, whales and the can-do attitude by exemplified by all that, if I lived closer (I'm in N.Y., USA), I'd take up residence at least once a month. It's not cheap, but it is the most I have ever received for my hard earned dollar.

The nicest component, and there were many, was that everything was included: there were no additional charges for wifi, laundry, wine at dinner, contents of room refrigerator, etc.

And then.....the chef arrived to explicate the menu, offering suggestions and/or modifications to meet any special requests you might have. Ummmmm good!

Room Tip: All rooms are exquisite, delightful, spacious. I was in room 9 with three - count them - 3 balconies...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
930 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £482 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing