We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the review you've been looking for.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birkenhead House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Birkenhead House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the review you've been looking for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Only one night for our anniversary - great location (just outside the main town of Hermanus - hour' drive from Cape Town), very helpful and attentive staff, beautiful plush rooms and food to die for. Wine on tap. We will be back. If you're looking for a definitive answer whether you should book Birkenhead House or not, you've just found it. Do it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEnthusiastZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    23
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
293
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Perfect location, perfect decor, perfect rooms, excellent food. Just wonderful. Like the Malibu house you've always dreamed of but could never afford in a million years. Damn near a perfect hotel. The crickets were a bit noisy at night.

Room Tip: Room 1 & 2 overlook the ocean and are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The management and staff are to be commended for knowing what their guests want and going the extra mile to put us at ease. It's a boutique hotel so I expected a friendly welcome, but it's the extra little touches that make all the difference here. The sprinkling of rose petals to welcome you to your room & bathroom, every imaginable extra from jelly beans to nuts, a stocked fridge, tea and coffee, not 'just' a dressing gown for each guest, instead there's two, both silk, one for warmer days/nights and one for cooler! Nothing is left to doubt, and even if there was something, I do believe that someone would click their fingers and it would appear!
The meals were all fabulous, the service outstanding, the setting superb but its the staff and their attitude that make such a huge impact here. Nothing is too much trouble, after a late-ish night I decided to wake myself up with a shot of espresso before a morning jog, the minute I got back a glass of water and a towel were offered...it's these little things that make such a big impression. A secluded hideaway of great beauty and peacefulness - I found my Shangri-la!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Spent two nights at this spectacular venue and if there is a hotel that can compete with this then they deserve an accolade! The setting on the cliffs facing the Indian Ocean is really superb, the rooms have every conceivable requirement, I could not even think of an item that they did not provide!
The staff from waiter to chef and management offer impeccable service and attention 24/7!
Food is fresh and home cooked and you get what you ask for.
Only an idiot would stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Beach front of course. Stay in the original hotel as they have sold the villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in March. Arrived to find it on a housing estate which was a surprise from the photos, however from the moment we pulled up it was just a delight to be there. A very warm welcome from all the staff and an calm fell upon us. Time just drifts along from one meal to the next. It's all inclusive, but not in the mass tourism way. It's fine dining, help yourself to digestifs, lovely beach walks and long deep sleeps. Perfect. Hermanus is perfect too. We hit just as the season turned so had wet weather but you know what we still loved it, and the hotel was less than half full so it felt like out own villa. Go stay its gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaxxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a small boutique hotel with a massive impact. The setting is absolutely idyllic - on the cliffs with outstanding views. The staff are excellent and the food amazing. We stayed in room one looking straight out to the ocean - breathtaking views. Absolutely nothing to complain about, just exquisite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vonny002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This property is not only spectacular , in beauty, but also in service, food and wine. The staff go out of there way to take care of you, wine trips, whale watching and many more... The rooms are individual and exquisite ..the shop has wonderful gift and clothing items ...the beach and views are breathtaking ...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emjaytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Property: Birkenhead House
Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House And Villa
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing