We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Excellent”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Nearly Excellent”
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We had a lovely stay here. Staff are young, charming and enthusiastic. Hotel is in a gorgeous location which is maximised. Hermanus is a great place for a short break, the whales (still a few around at the beginning of December which was a bonus we didn’t expect) are breathtaking, the cliff walk a super experience and the town just perfect for a stroll with some nice shops.

I offer a slighly different opinion to others however as the hotel is simply too expensive for what it offers. It is a truly good hotel but simply not value for money – IMHO about a third too much. Clearly however people are paying the price, there are return visitors and any opinion is subjective but...

The pools look pretty but are very small so not really worth swimming in, the lounge is a delight but if the hotel is full simply not big enough to give everybody space if they wish, our room had two balconies but one was shared with next door and the dividing trellis offered no privacy and the one at the rear looked into next door’s bathroom and had no appreciable view, dinner was served each night in the same cramped dining room, food had very limited choice and was frankly average with a couple of exceptions, red wine choice was poor (particularly when you consider how cheap SA wine is) and in order to get one they thought would suit us there was a premium to be paid. Oh and a niggle – Molton Brown amenities are lovely but I had the same in my £99 apartment hotel last week – also screwed to the wall. Would suggest something a bit more upmarket and the freedom to use your body lotion where you desire!!

However the location, the views, the decor, the charm and the staff would make this a hotel I would return to (if they’ll have me!!) and recommend.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Felt the choice and quality of food did not measure up for me.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    23
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
300
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We spent one night at Birkenhead Villa followed by one night at Birkenhead House as part of our honeymoon. Both are excellent - very comfortable, spotlessly clean and with beautiful views. The staff were incredibly friendly, especially Zinnia, the manager of Birkenhead Villa who was delightful and so welcoming to us on our arrival. Everyone was so helpful there and we'd highly recommend both the House and Villa, the only difference being that the latter is slightly more modern but equally comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank squirtscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The Birkenhead House had impeccable customer service, and was a ruly relaxing/one of a kind experience. Perfect place to stay for a special occasion (long weekend), especially great for couples. In house chef, with excellent food. The house itself was gorgeous and perched right above a small beach on the cliffs. Saw hundreds of whales right from our room. Not a place for people wanting nightlife however.

  • Liked — High quality of service, food and hotel itself.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank meldabs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

The Birkenhead House is simply amazing. The attention to detail is impressive and really makes the experience special. It is a beautifully decorated place with stunning views. We never left the property and saw plenty of whales.

We were there for part of our honeymoon and were treated like royalty.

We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — They made us feel special
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank piratesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

This is literally the best place we have ever stayed in. I know this will read similar to the other reviews but they is not much more I can add.

We stayed in Room 1 in the Villa which had great views from our own terrace over the Atlantic. The room was simply exqusite. We stayed for 3 nights and only wish it could have been longer.

Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. The food was great as was the wine. The staff booked us a whale trip and also quad biking together with a round of golf.

We used the spa and the treatments were great.

On checkout all the staff came out to wish us a safe journey. Nice touch and will definatley go back soon.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Quite simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I cannot think of a single thing to fault it.

Service absolutely impeccable. Food amazing. Views incredible. Room lovely (actually, lack of carpet when it is cold might be one tiny weeny niggle!) - ours (Room 6) had a free standing clawfoot bath, double sinks, massive double shower, wraparound balcony with three different views, amazingly comfortable bed and a huge amount of storage space.
The fact that everything - including laundry! - is included is really great. You'll pay for premium wines and champagne, but the wine that comes in the inclusive package is fabulous and there is a great choice of reds, whites, cocktails and fizz available at no extra charge.
The views out over the bay make you feel like you are in heaven. We were lucky enough to be there in September, when whale calving season begins, and I'd say that generally we'd see at least 10 to 15 whales in the bay (within a hundred yards of the hotel) at any one time. They tended to breach in the evenings. Definitely do the whale watching trip if you go - we got within a metre or so of a couple of whales!
If you're thinking about Hermanus, I wouldn't give accommodation a second thought - Birkenhead House is the only choice.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

What a lovely place. We stayed for a couple of nights as part of our honeymoon and could def have stayed longer! Very cosy and comfortable, with high levels of service and delicious food. And just a spectacular setting, with the washes crashing, and whales to be seen in the bay at every turn.
It is set outside of the main town of Hermanus, and there is a lovely coastal walk that takes you into town. Magical.
A great place to relax, enjoy nature, read a book, or just contemplate while gazing at the horizon.
Was too cold for swimming while we were there but I can imagine it would be lovely in the summer as well (although less whales to be seen then!)

  • Liked — lovely rooms and the stunning setting and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blasterHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
910 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Property: Birkenhead House
Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing