We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at your own (very cool) glass villa by the sea....”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like staying at your own (very cool) glass villa by the sea....”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We could see whales (hundreds of them!) from our bed... Very cool room and relaxed dining atmosphere -- it almost feels like a friend has invited you to a dinner party and has asked your opinion on what to serve. Totally relaxing.
Birkenhead House (next door) is more traditional -- a small boutique hotel -- You can use all the facilities but there is something much more intimate and unique (and modern) about Birkenhead Villa...

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJetSetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    23
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
303
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Superb hotel in wonderful location with sounds of the surf all around. Very elegant. Food very good and ambience excellent. Wonderful spot for relaxing , walking on teh immaculate beaches and through the fynbos. Lacks a cocktail bar area but otherwsie pretty perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at Birkenhead House during our honeymoon in the summer of 2008...Most people suggested that we stay at the Marine in Hermanus but the Birkenhead House seemed more personal and private...We pulled into the Birkenhead House and were met by a few staff members...They escorted us into the hotel and showed us our room...The only problem we experienced during out stay was that they brought us to the wrong room...The room we were supposed to be in was being renovated and they didn't mentioned anything about the room switch until we brought it up to them...We asked to move to a different room (much smaller but with a different view) and they quickly got that room ready and refunded the difference...Not a huge deal but wish that they would have told us instead of me bringing it up to them...The hotel is basically a beautiful seaside house with great design, art and attention to detail...There are two pools (one in the back of the house the other in an open courtyard in the middle of the house) and the house sits on a cliff overlooking the ocean and surrounded by beautiful beaches...It was the winter so the swimming and sunbathing options were to a minimum but the place must be lovely in the summer...Our plan was to go whale watching but the sea was too rough...We just relaxed, took a nap and enjoyed the house...Dinner was very good and was personalized as much as possible...The chef came out to talk to us about anything special or different that we wanted...Hermanus is lovely and the area produces the best Pinot Noir in South Africa (Hamilton Hussell and Bouchard Finlayson) and the drive from Franschhoek was lovely...During our stay there was a pretty severe winter storm...Although it limited our use of the outdoor space but we got an understanding of how rough the weather could get in this part of the world...We were in out small room on the cliff's edge and we felt the full force of the storm and were happy we weren't on a boat...Except for the small mix-up with the room we couldn't recommend the Birkenhead House enough and is worth the extra money versus the other hotels in the area...Make sure you look at the website as each room is different...Some have better views, others are much bigger.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We spent 3 nights at Birkenhead House and can't wait to go back. After a beautiful and easy drive from capetown we were greeted by the friendly staff, given a tour and a glass of champagne. The service is effortless and the fact that its all inclusive means you can relax and not worry about drink charges, tipping etc. Food was excellent and a great wine selection. The view from the terrace is breathtaking with great walks to the beach or back into town.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

The setting of this hotel is truly fabulous! If you are looking for peace and quiet, excellent service and a bit of luxury this is the place to stay in Hermanus.

On reflection I would say the food is only average - the view from the restaurant makes it taste better than it really is. Because of this I am glad we only stayed 2 nights.

The staff were very welcoming and strived to accommodate all our wants and needs.

I would recommend a massage at the spa - the perfect way to start your time at Birkenhead House.

Note: if you are in your 30's it is likely you will be the youngest guests by at least 20 years......!

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Food and wine choice
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Rarely do I stay at a hotel I would go back to - but Birkenhead House is one place I definitely want to revisit. We stayed for 2 nights and only wish it could have been longer.

The location is amazing (on cliffs overlooking sea) and from there you get amazing sunsets and whales for breakfast lunch and dinner (even in Dec which is not officially in season).

The whole decor and ambience of the hotel is excellent - yet there is still a very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere and lots of nice little touches such as free drinks and running a candlelit bath for you whilst you are at dinner.

I think the only negative point is around the dining in the evening - the house was full and so the dining room feels a little cramped and not very private. If I was staying for longer I think this could become annoying as you have to go full board.

Overall would definitely recommend this place!

  • Liked — Amazing location and views
  • Disliked — Having to go full board every day
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We had a lovely stay here. Staff are young, charming and enthusiastic. Hotel is in a gorgeous location which is maximised. Hermanus is a great place for a short break, the whales (still a few around at the beginning of December which was a bonus we didn’t expect) are breathtaking, the cliff walk a super experience and the town just perfect for a stroll with some nice shops.

I offer a slighly different opinion to others however as the hotel is simply too expensive for what it offers. It is a truly good hotel but simply not value for money – IMHO about a third too much. Clearly however people are paying the price, there are return visitors and any opinion is subjective but...

The pools look pretty but are very small so not really worth swimming in, the lounge is a delight but if the hotel is full simply not big enough to give everybody space if they wish, our room had two balconies but one was shared with next door and the dividing trellis offered no privacy and the one at the rear looked into next door’s bathroom and had no appreciable view, dinner was served each night in the same cramped dining room, food had very limited choice and was frankly average with a couple of exceptions, red wine choice was poor (particularly when you consider how cheap SA wine is) and in order to get one they thought would suit us there was a premium to be paid. Oh and a niggle – Molton Brown amenities are lovely but I had the same in my £99 apartment hotel last week – also screwed to the wall. Would suggest something a bit more upmarket and the freedom to use your body lotion where you desire!!

However the location, the views, the decor, the charm and the staff would make this a hotel I would return to (if they’ll have me!!) and recommend.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Felt the choice and quality of food did not measure up for me.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
681 reviews
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
915 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Property: Birkenhead House
Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing