We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hermanus Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermanus Beach Villa(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge(Hermanus)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$583
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
184
106
33
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
106
33
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark cage divingdouble roomgreat kitchenseparate housebraai areaprivate bathroommain buildingone nightplace to staywell equipped kitchenwhale watching tourgarden routefamily roomtea and coffeehome away from homestayed for nightscentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great Backpackers in Hermanus!
Nice, clean rooms with big bathrooms for a very good price!
Great discount on shark cage diving! 995 ZAR + free Dorm or 100 ZAR discount per Person on a double!
Even 100 ZAR discount on whale watching tour.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dohm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

We loved this backpacker! We had a lovely double room in one of their houses! With our own pool and kitchen! The guys were so helpful right from the word go! And got a great discount on our whale watching boat trip. They showed us maps and places to go both free and trips! But didn't try and flog anything to us! Also the bar and BBQ/fire area is amazing. Also were invited to join one of the staffs bday party which was nice! Would definately visit here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fully7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This place is a great base for Hermanus - just 10mins walk to the town centre & Gearings Point (awesome whale watching).
The hotel has everything - Quiet lounge; Tv Lounge; x2 Kitchens; Pool; Braii; Bar with Free Pool table.
The staff are friendly, helpful & really energetic...
The rooms are clean & fresh with plenty of space - they have even got lockers (bring your own padlock) and there is a safe in reception for passports, etc.
Sometimes the bar can get a bit noisy which may annoy some people (I was fine) but it does close at 11pm.... All in all a great place to stay.... oh Free WiFi & computer too..!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, not in the main building but the house just around the corner. The room was small but extremely clean and with own bathroom. Plus, there was a kind of a living room just before, with sofas and a fire-placed. We were the only ones to use it during our stay. So, it felt like we had a 2-room hotel. Hayley was great even before going to Hermanus with lots of tips on how to arrange our stay and what activities to do. We didn't do the Shark Tour and it was too windy and rainy to do the whale-watching tour on boat (luckily we did see the whales from the shore). But this is a nice place to spend one or two nights and explore the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 342TravelBug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July in the private, ensuite rooms (390 ZAR/room/night). We took advantage of a deal through Great White Shark Tours and got money off our shark dive if we stayed in one of the backpacker places in Hermanus. The rooms were clean here and the bathrooms were overly spacious. I was in room K which is essentially across from the bar, so it was noisy until midnight, even though the bar closes at 11pm--just FYI if you stay in those rooms. There was wifi available in the common area--kinda slow, but did the trick. There was also toast, etc. available in the mornings for breakfast. The staff was friendly and gave us advise on places to visit along the Garden Route. We probably wouldn't have stayed here if it wasn't for the shark dive deal because 390 ZAR was expensive considering the overall quality of the room, but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews