We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the little cottage around the corner: 2 rooms + kitchenette + sitting area, so you (almost) have your own holiday home at a bargain price. Good braai in the main house. Super helpful owners/staff (they arranged all our tours in a minimum of time). We loved our stay, txs all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    96
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
89
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a dorm. Would definitely stay here again.

Pros
- very friendly staff
- cutest dog
- met some great people here
- good handout/lounge area
- large self serve kitchens
- bar in the back
- close to shops
- secure parking available
- free breakfast - toast, coffee, and tea
- owners make you feel very welcome
- free wifi

Cons
- not the cleanest of places (ie bathrooms) but definitely livable.
- very busy on weekends (for people who like a quiet place)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Clean rooms, good breakfast and really relaxed atmosphere. Unfortunately we stayed only one night, but this backpackers is definitely a place to be comfortable. We met nice people and the stuff was friendly to help with everything. Free Wifi completes the impession.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in the cottage round the corner from the main backpackers. It had a total of (I think) 6 rooms all of which were en-suite. Ours was super clean, comfy double bed and also a double bunk, the kitchen has a ten seater table and is the most modern kitchen I've seen in a backpackers. I loved all the paintings on the walls and the lounge had plenty couches with a fireplace and TV with all the channels which is important to catch a big game ;) Beautiful garden with a divine pool but it was too cold to swim. Extremely good value for money, couldn't quite believe it actually!

Room Tip: It was quiet when we were there so it's hard to say if it were busy what it would be like. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked to stay at Hermanus Backpackers purely due to the fact that they offered a shark cage diving offer. If you booked the trip through them, they gave you R100 discount each per night, making the stay pretty cheap.

When we arrived, we were asked to pay a lot more than we were expecting to. After questioning why, we were told: 'oh, the shark diving has been cancelled, weren't you informed? That means you have to pay the full price'. After much debate, we agreed to pay the full amount, even though it was no way our fault that the shark diving had been cancelled after we had booked it. The guy on reception was so rude and unapologetic that I considered leaving there and then, but then decided to stay otherwise seeing as we'd be charged for the room regardless.

Let me just state that if we weren't getting the discount, I would NEVER have booked to stay here. Out of our two week tour of South Africa, this was by far the dirtiest, run down, overcrowded place (we stayed in 12 different hotels, guesthouses and hostels) and it wasn't even the cheapest! Do yourself a favour and use your money to book a much nicer place for the same price.

The taps in the bathroom span around, the toilet was filthy, the curtains fell down etc etc. I will post photos soon.

To rub salt into our wounds, upon check out the guy at the desk tried to charge us for the room, even though we had already paid the full amount on arrival. He hadn't even bothered to make a note of this. We placed the key on the desk and walked out, happy to get out of that place and on to the next clean hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vctorianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff were super friendly, enthusiastic and welcoming. I stayed in a dorm which was nice with comfortable beds. The hostel was pretty clean but they do have a dog thats often around so consider that if you're allergic. I think the kitchens and dining area got pretty crowded in the evening but that happens at most hostels. I had a great stay and I really liked Hermanus town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasminaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
205 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hermanus is a lovely town and this hostel has safe, free parking only two blocks from the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful, stayed in a double room with ensuite which was lovely. They also have some great discounts on local activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbloggeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
6.7 mi away
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing