We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Only stayed here one night while passing through as we had an early rise the next day for whale watching. The guys at reception we really nice, friendly and helpful, giving directions to everything in town!! The room was clean with a comfortable bed but only one plug-in so we had to take turns using this. Also, our room was right by main door, reception and bathrooms, so we could hear everyone and everything. It was an okay place to stay for one night, but would have to either switch rooms for another night or stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main entrance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannaB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    96
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
89
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morro del Jable, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The hostel was really nice. They picked us up from the baz bus stop and we arrived they had a barbecue that night, it was really good and for a good price. The staff was also always very friendly and helpful about all our questions.

We stayed in the dorm wich we had for ourselves. It was really spacious and clean.

But the best here was the whale watching. In Hermanus we had one of our best days of our whole trip around Africa. Just come here for the whale season and you will have the best experience of your life!!! We loved it and will definetly come back!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I just wanted to write a quick review to say how great this backpackers is :)

I was a lone traveller and Hayley and the other team members made me feel so welcome. I took a private room which was basic but had every thing that was needed, including tea coffee and bread etc.. to make toast in the morning. The team were helpful even before my arrival helping me organise a shark dive (well worth it) and a whale watch (which I couldn't do due to weather) The team helped me out with directions and the best places to watch whales from the cliffs (and a good bar too - cocos).

I would totally recommend that you visit this backpackers as they will help you make the most of Hermanus.:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I have been in lots of backpackers, and can defiantly say it was the best!!

Very worm and good atmosphere! The staff was very kind, always love to help at any time.

We stayed for a few nights, in a double bed room, and also took a dorm bed for one night.. Everything was great, both rooms were much more than I expected! Not one bad thing to say!!

Love to get there again some time

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Limor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The staff is very kind,give you help every time you need them.
Perfect location,near the sea and near the town,everything is close by.
The rooms look good and clean,you get to use for free a computer with internet,which is great.
Nice breakfast.

Best hostel we have visited in whole South Africa.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was a great place, refreshing to have the atmosphere of a real hostel after some boring places in Cape Town - very staff, plenty of places to chill, free brews, and toast in the morning.
The white water rafting organised via their activities list is a bit dodgy though.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ootopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Froson, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was the absolutely best backpackers we've stayed in in SA. The staff was friendly, the building just beautiful and you could easily pay with your credit card. Wifi was good enough. The braai they make is enough to make me wanna return. Again, again and again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
6.7 mi away
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing