We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Nice, clean, friendly, and good parking, was my first impression. The place is very safe, and is situated in a quiet area. the room in the back we stayed in was a bit noisy in the evening, but we had no problem while sleeping. Thanx for the wonderfull stay!

Room Tip: The front of the Hostel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjda_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    96
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
89
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed in Hermanus after a friend recommended it. I stayed a Hermanus Backpackers and booked a shark cage dive through them which gave me a free night in the dorm. The backpacker house was funky and very clean. I stayed in an 6 man dorm room but both nights only had 2 other people with me. It was a nice place to stop for the shark dive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillKampalaUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Second time since 2010 and still the best place to stay while visiting this lovely seaside town. Owners Bram and Hayley can't do enoght to help with your travel arrangements.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the pool and bar area is full of
Fun loving people. The staff re great and quite honestly we felt like they were family..hard to leave.
We will return next year
Also their evening Braiis are super

Room Tip: Try staying in their new section in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamstown, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Hermanus Backpackers for a Bachelor's Weekend and they really surpassed all our expectations. The staff were really helpful and accommodating with all our needs and they provide a first class steak dinner on request. I'd definitely give them 2 thumbs up all round.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Rally fun place and great staff. Bar could of stayed open later but hey I can't complain about that. Good location and one of the better backpackers iv stayed in world wide.
Private room was nice and big and the best bedding iv ever had in a backpackers. Top notch.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lovely, welcoming place. Clean, kind staff. Maybe to expensive if you are not single, for more than one person there are better deals out there, but as a lone traveler this feels like home. Messy, communal breakfast, if you are social. Nice pub and pool.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night while passing through town. The reception staff was friendly and very helpful at pointing out what the town has to offer. The room was large with lots of space and even a small locker to put your belongings (provide your own lock). The cons of the room where that it only had one outlet. With there being a double bed and two sets of bunk beds, so up to 6ppl having only one plug in was a huge inconvenience. The corridors were also very noisy so getting a good nights sleep was not an option. However, this being a typical backpackers hostel one should not expect too much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
6.7 mi away
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing