We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, lovely people, lovely vibe.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, lovely people, lovely vibe.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hermanus Backpackers is perfectly located if you want to explore this charming town on foot. It is close to shops and the cliff walks (which is a great way to do some whale watching). Great service. Comfortable and very clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOxOx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    96
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
90
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
315 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice place to stay... quiet, comfortable, breakfast all day, knowledgable staff, free internet and wi fi, great kitchen, nice dog and cats... Excellent location... would go back... Highly recommenned...

Room Tip: Wonderful place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_KK9185AX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Little Cottage which is just around the corner from the Backpackers itself. It was absolute value for money! As we stayed with our son who is 14 months old, it was great having our own space with a fully-equipped kitchen. The cottage has its own pool and braai area as well as a small garden. Very clean and well taken care of! Recommendable for families!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I wasn't even staying here but from a ride up to meet the Baz bus with Arnu and Dirk (the incredibly friendly dog!) and Hayley then posting me the sunglasses that I left in the van, these guys couldn't have gone further out of the way to help me. Hayley is hilarious to boot. Beautiful place / excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob5youruncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here for one Night during our road trip across South Africa,

This is an excellent backpackers, not too far out from Hermanus.

The backpackers has great charm, beautifully decorated inside with pictures, drawings, and a great amount of tourist information, both locally, and for the Overburg region.

We didn't make use of the lounge facilities, but there is a Flat screen with DSTV, Comfortable seats.

The Outside is neatly kitted out with a Braai area, Swimming Pool (which somehow had a Cat Fish swimming in it!!!) and a Bar/Pool Table, so it makes those long nighrs in the warmth a great place to have a few drinks and entertain.

The Rooms are reasonaby basic, all have bunks, lockers, and some shelving space, but our room lacked enough wall sockets, and had to use a socket near the end of the other bed to charge our phones.

Showers and Toilets are basic, It would pay to keep the window open while you are showering, I was just about tortured by several flying creatures as big as my hand!

Overall, this backpackers did the job, if you are looking for a cheap nights accomodation, a bit of entertainment and some cool staff, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent a great night at this excellent backpackers in their "Little Cottage" just round the corner from the main backpackers. It was perfect for us as it has two bedrooms and bathrooms and there were four of us. Well equipped clean and private with its own braai and a pool shared with the Cottage". In the evening we went round to the main establishment and had a great time. The fire was going, folk were really friendly and there was a great vibe from staff and visitors. Within easy walking distance to beaches and town centre. Happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: The Little Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgirl5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Nice, clean, friendly, and good parking, was my first impression. The place is very safe, and is situated in a quiet area. the room in the back we stayed in was a bit noisy in the evening, but we had no problem while sleeping. Thanx for the wonderfull stay!

Room Tip: The front of the Hostel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjda_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge
0.2 mi away
Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing