We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We all agreed that this was our favourite place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermanus Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We all agreed that this was our favourite place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

The most welcoming staff, clean rooms. Lots of fun. Met amazing people staying here. By far the most relaxing & comfortable atmosphere we have experienced. We just laughed constantly. We stayed for three nights instead of one & would have loved to stay longer. Will definitely be back here. Thanks a mill!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trimc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    96
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
89
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2007

We stayed here in October 2006, and I felt compelled to agree with the reviewer below. It was certainly one of the best hostels we stayed in on our trip, and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. We too had a powercut whilst we were there but they overcame this by making a cooked breakfast on the braai for all who wanted it.
All the usual tours and trips were available to book (unfortunately we couldn't go sandboarding as there had been too much rain, but made up for it in Jeffreys Bay) and everyone seemed very knowledgeable about the area. We even managed an unscheduled trip to Cape A'gulhas on our second day, as one of the staff was driving out there and had spaces in the car.
By the end of our 3 night stay we were beginning to feel like part of the family and were sorry to leave. If anyone reading this is planning to stay there in the future - please say hi to everyone, including Buddy, Diesel & Bella for us!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff. South Wales, GB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2006

We stayed at the Hermanus Backpackers in May 2006 - I had come from Plettenberg Bay and I have to say I was little dissapointed with my accomadation there - But Hermanus Backpackers certainly made up fpr it! What a lovely place - Really comfortable and clean and friendly - They have a bar with a free pool table and there always seems to be a good atmosphere - even in the winter - We had a power cut whiulst we were there! And it was great fun! I would recomnmend this Hostel! Its the only place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meljamesarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing