We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great people, great place!”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

What a fantastic place to stay! The staff are beyond friendly, the rooms are lovley, there is a real backpacker feel to this place where everyone gets to know everyone else over a game of pool and a drink from the honesty bar! We went to Hermanus to see the whales but staying at this backpackers became part of the experience for us, so much so that after we moved on to Gansbaai we doubdled back to spend just one more night there. Don't miss it when you are in South Africa!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosief18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    96
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
92
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Visited this hostel with 3 friends for 2 nights. We stayed in a 3 bed, private room on the second floor. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, very spacious. Communal bathrooms, but there was never any line and they were always clean and well maintained.

The hostel had a very bohemian but welcoming vibe. The staff were always very friendly and attentive. They were especially helpful with planning outings. We got a great deal on a great white shark diving trip (about 40 mins south of Hermanus) that included a free night at the hostel! When the weather turned out to be stormy the day of the dive, they helped us plan a wine tasting trip just a few miles outside of town. (As an aside, the wineries in this area are fantastic. Much quieter and less expensive than some others we visited, plus you get views of the entire valley all the way to the ocean). Then they helped arrange for us to dive the following morning.

The hotel is located about 400 meters from the ocean. There's a lovely cliff walk where you can sometimes see whales (we weren't that lucky). The town of Hermanus is a fun small town and about a 15 minute walk. The hostel itself was very social, with a bar/pool area that was all run on the honor system! Also had a computer to check your email for a nominal cost, a large kitchen, and a sitting area with a large TV.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The most welcoming staff, clean rooms. Lots of fun. Met amazing people staying here. By far the most relaxing & comfortable atmosphere we have experienced. We just laughed constantly. We stayed for three nights instead of one & would have loved to stay longer. Will definitely be back here. Thanks a mill!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trimc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

We stayed here in October 2006, and I felt compelled to agree with the reviewer below. It was certainly one of the best hostels we stayed in on our trip, and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. We too had a powercut whilst we were there but they overcame this by making a cooked breakfast on the braai for all who wanted it.
All the usual tours and trips were available to book (unfortunately we couldn't go sandboarding as there had been too much rain, but made up for it in Jeffreys Bay) and everyone seemed very knowledgeable about the area. We even managed an unscheduled trip to Cape A'gulhas on our second day, as one of the staff was driving out there and had spaces in the car.
By the end of our 3 night stay we were beginning to feel like part of the family and were sorry to leave. If anyone reading this is planning to stay there in the future - please say hi to everyone, including Buddy, Diesel & Bella for us!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff. South Wales, GB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2006

We stayed at the Hermanus Backpackers in May 2006 - I had come from Plettenberg Bay and I have to say I was little dissapointed with my accomadation there - But Hermanus Backpackers certainly made up fpr it! What a lovely place - Really comfortable and clean and friendly - They have a bar with a free pool table and there always seems to be a good atmosphere - even in the winter - We had a power cut whiulst we were there! And it was great fun! I would recomnmend this Hostel! Its the only place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meljamesarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing