We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View and Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic View and Friendly Service”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed for two nights. Free and safe parking area - Hotel is in walking distance from shopping area and restaurants. At arrival we experienced very friendly service - luggage was taken to the room and people at reception were very informative (hotel and local restaurants).
Fantastic view from room over Walker Bay! Hearty buffet breakfast.
Will definitively go back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilzem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsormanagement_11, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Wilzem,
Thank you for your honest and positive feedback. We don't claim to be more than this.
We look forward to seeing you again at the Windsor Hotel!
Regards,
Blake and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    246
    171
    48
    30
See reviews for
162
310
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights; one of 8 hotels during a stay in South Africa. Without doubt this was the worst hotel we stayed in.

We arrived at reception and checked in, the lady pointed to the stairs and said our room was 'up there' - no specifics about exactly where, offer of help with 3 large bags, information about breakfast, car park or Hermanus in general. We arrived to the room, I did not realise by not selecting a sea view that this meant a car park view. The room was incredibly dated. We paid 80 GBP for the room for a night, for the same in other places the difference is incomprehensible.

The walls were thin, could hear guests arriving and mobile phones going off in rooms next door. No safe, or air con in the rooms either. This hotel needs a major refurb and overhaul to be considered value for money.

We managed to stay for 3 days and not have any other members of staff interact with us apart from arrival.

This said - the view (not of the car park) is great - however there are other hotels in Hermanus which offer this view.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nailbiter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsormanagement_11, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Nailbiter
I take these comments of yours in a very serious light and I require some facts from you. (i.e. date of stay etc.) I always welcome constructive criticism. But criticism cannot be constructive without facts otherwise it is merely character assassination. Please contact me directly at blake@windsorhotel.co.za at your earliest possible convenience.
Kind Regards,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This was my first visit to the Windsor Hotel, and it's with pleasure that I can write a review based on pure satisfaction. I stayed in a sea facing room and was able to see as many as 4 Southern Right Whales from my window. The rooms are comfortable with everything you need and their buffet breakfast is delicious and fresh. You have a wonderfull view of the sea as you enjoy your meal and definitely adds to a relaxing stay. You are surrounded by friendly and helpful staff which are willing to help at any time with any problem or challenge. All the shops are within walking distance, including bars and restaurants. I wil lalmost certainly be back next whale season.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here in September 2011 and easily the best thing about the hotel is the location. Terrific sea views and close to the centre of town. However.... investment is needed in the public areas which are a bit run down. Easily the least smiling and helpful staff that we encountered on our touring holiday - and we stayed in 9 hotels across South Africa.The bedrooms are okay, some of them recently re-furbished. If only the staff could have smiled a little when we were there........

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsormanagement_11, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear PowysWale.
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so excited that in the time period from your stay (September) to the date of your review, November 10th, we have made further progress on the refurbishments you referred to in your review. The public areas are amongst some of those changes. Please join our Facebook page ( Hermanus Windsor Hotel) to see the changes we've already made and keep in touch with upcoming developments in our hotel. We look so forward to welcome you back to The Windsor Hotel.
Warm Windsor Regards,
Blake Albert, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Rooms are nice, clean, spacious and ideal for whale watching. It is right in the center of town, close to several restaurants and shops. The hotel is on the older side and some of the furniture can do with a make-over but the staff and overall feel of the hotel is great.

Room Tip: The ground floor units are not as private as the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsormanagement_11, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Hi Corit.
Thank you for your comment. My staff and I work very hard to make sure people feel the way you do about their stay with us. It's always nice to get positive feedback and we thank you for yours. Please follow us on Facebook (Hermanus Windsor Hotel) to see some of the refurbishments that have already taken place in regards to the make-over of furniture you referred to in your comments.
Kind Regards,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Second hotel on our Travelsphere tour.
Small seaview character hotel 5 minutes walk to a lovely town.
Compact clean comfortable room with direct seaview ideal for whalewatching.
Great breakfast and excellent helpful staff.
Wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night.

Room Tip: Seaview a must have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extravelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsormanagement_11, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear extravelmgr.
Thank you so much for understanding what we're all about. Although your comments are so positive we strive to better ourselves all the time. Please join us on Facebook (Hermanus Windsor Hotel) to keep up to date with our further endeavours to furhter improve ourselves.
One must never rest on one's laurels. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, and we certainly look forward to your next visit to The Windsor Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have stayed at the Windsor on several different occasions over the last 15 years and have always enjoyed my trips to this hotel. The reason I enjoy this hotel is because it reminds me of the way service in hotels should be.(Used to be)
You are not a revenue source at The Windsor, you are a guest. I do agree with some of the previous comment about the "dated" look of the hotel, but have never felt the hotel was run-down.
Having said that the changes that have already occurred in their ongoing refurbishment have made a tremendous impact and the hotel is looking splendid.
I thoroughly enjoyed my far too short two nights stay that I have just completed at the Windsor Hotel. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mienkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing