We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable in its own skin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Comfortable in its own skin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Just returned to the UK having spent our last two nights at the Windsor Hotel. Enjoyed our stay but weren't 'bowled over' by the establishment, we were given a third floor sea-view room and I would stress to pay a little extra for this, otherwise you'll be looking at a car park.

The communal areas are lovely, the furniture fits with the 1896 original style, if only the rooms would follow suit. They really could just do with either modernising, or imitating the look of the rest of the hotel; unfortunately the decor is more 70s than 1870s! However, the views from the windows are spectacular and make up for where the furnishings lack. It would be nice perhaps to have a Juliet balcony so that you could at least feel you are sitting outside.

The location is superb, straight onto the cliff walk (to the left of the hotel is great). You really need to be in communal areas to get half-decent wifi reception. Bar service was good but breakfast so-so.

All in all, the hotel was fine for our short stay - it seems very comfortable plodding along, but with a few improvements it could rise up the rankings in Hermanus!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Tom083,

Thank you for your constructive criticism. The Points you have made are valid and we have embarked on a program of renovations and restoration. Please be advised that this is a lengthy process, but we recognize the importance of it.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you may see and feel some of the ongoing changes we are making. In broad terms I thank you for your honest review.

Yours Sincerely,
Blake and the Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    218
    154
    45
    27
See reviews for
135
278
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is across the road from the sea and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel "feels like home" as it has common areas, such as a TV room, lounge, dining room, bar area, etc. The sea facing rooms are the best! Just remember to ask for this specifically as there's also non-sea facing rooms and rooms across the hotel parking area, which I won't recommend. The rooms are standard and comfortable. The rooms don't have air-conditioning and no DSTV. The bathroom is small and could be uncomfortable, especially the bath-shower. The water temperature is inconsistent. This could be troublesome while rinsing your hair, getting soap in your eye with the water temperature switching to burning hot at the same moment. Breakfast includes cereals, muesli, yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh muffins, breads, cheeses, beacon, eggs (they have the best omelets), tomato, salami, fish, chicken livers, mince, fruit juice, coffee / tea. The breakfast area have spectacular sea views. The hotel is clean.
If you don't mind the tastefully decorated antique furniture, no DSTV in the room, no air conditioning in the room, I will recommend this hotel. I've stayed there twice and will stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Amanda D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we always welcome constructive criticism and we have noted certain comments you have made and will address as many as we can. We are confident that you will see over the next few months our commitment to the ongoing upgrading of our hotel.
We thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have been to the Windsor on a few occasions but I always leave with the feeling it will be better next time.
The views from the sea facing rooms can be breathtaking and doubly so if there are whales in the bay.The hotel is also within walking distance to town and the many excellent restaurants and bars nearby.
On the downside it is somewhat tired but,in our opinion it would not take too much effort by
management to rectify this.
The staff could do with a little motivation.We should hardly need to ask for a hand to the 3rd floor




























with our luggage when checking in and out!
The buffet breakfast is varied and good quality but why ask your guests to collect their own tea
and coffee? Come on guys that's a decent hotel basic.
And just as an aside we live in a country with a hot summer climate, surely a small bar refrigerator in the rooms should be a given?
We will in all probability have another visit next year.I hope the comments I have posted are seen as trying to be constructive and not just derogatory.






The staff could do with a little motivation. I shouldn't really have to ask for help with our luggage to the 3rd floor on checking in and out.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are a must preferably on the 2nd and 3rd floor. If like me,you and your children l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear eric312659,

Thank you very much for your comments. We really do appreciate constructive criticism. I'm sure you'll agree with me that there has been a genuine attempt to start upgrading and renovating certain parts of the hotel. As it is with most projects in life sometimes these things take a little bit of time. I assure you that we have a very serious and definite plan in place to take The Windsor to where it wants to be.

There are many parts of your comments that we will include in that plan.
I thoroughly look forward to your visit next year and beg you to call on me when you are here so that I may be able to show you our plans and get some of your input which would be greatly valued.

Thank you for your ongoing support.

Yours Sincerely,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I think the hotel depends more on the location than customer care.
Staff on reception were less than welcoming and the bar staff seemed totally disinterested.
The whole place needs a makeover.
If it wasn't for the location - and the whales, the Windsor Hotel would struggle.
To sum up, don't waste your hard earned cash, stay somewhere else.
On the positive side, Hermanus is full of wonderfull places to eat and there is lots to see.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanHay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear jum186543,

I would urgently request you to please e-mail me the details of your stay, IE dates and time of check in (blake@windsorhotel.co.za). Your comments are very personal to you and have far reaching consequences.
To recommend that people go somewhere else without giving us the opportunity to investigate and correct this issue is extremely harsh.
The Windsor Hotel has been here for 116 years and a bad experience such as this one needs to be thoroughly addressed, but you have to be fair and give me the full details of your stay so that I can take action.
I am sorry you had such a bad experience and I would hope that the next time you find yourself in Hermanus that you would give The Windsor the opportunity to show you that this was a one-off experience.

Yours Sincerely,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

My family stayed at the Windsor Hotel the night before going on a great white shark trip. We loved the hotel. It was quaint with the many sitting rooms, hallways and lovely dining room. The location right on the edge of the ocean was beautiful! It was also a short walk into town where there are many small restaurants and bars. The sound of the crashing waves lulled us to sleep. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very friendly. We had to leave early but wished we were staying longer to enjoy the town.

Room Tip: Splurge for an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Lynda R,

Thank you for your awesome comments. We are also so sad you could only stay the one night and we sincerely hope that you get a chance to travel to Hermanus again so that we can welcome you back to The Windsor Hotel.

Kind regards,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is located right on the bay overlooking the sea and we loved the sea facing room that we got. It was the right season for the whales and we did spot a couple from the huge window in our room.

We got the room on the second floor and it was spacious and neat. The ground floor rooms had more or less the same view but had a nice sit out which I think is a plus point. Plus there is no lift so if you are going with elders who have difficulty climbing up, its better to ask for the ground floor rooms.
Bathroom was also big and neat but we had some problems with the flush. There was a terrible sound every time we flushed which would continue for a long time. The wash basin had no hot water which was a major inconvenience. There was however hot water in the shower.

The breakfast was a very nice spread. The reception staff and well as the other staff were very helpful. The hotel has a nice back entrance which leads you into a street full of shops which was very useful. Overall it was a good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: No lift so keep in mind while choosing rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaterShadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear WaterShadows,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive remarks. The plumbing issues that you refer to have been identified and fixed thanks to your comments.

Reviews like these are extremely helpful to us. Thank you for taking your time to write them.

Kind regards,
Blake Alberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

The Windsor Hotel is right on the bay and if you have a sea view you can see whales from your bedroom window (at the right time of year).

Good sized bedroom with large double bed and sofa, bathroom had a bath and shower.

Hotel is old but comfortable, the breakfast was excellent

Good location within easy reach of shops, restaurants and waterfront.

Note that all the whale watching boats leave from the New Harbour about 2 miles away from the centre.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matilda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Matilda48,

Thank you for your fair comments. We really appreciate it when travelers write of positive experiences or give constructive criticism.

Your review goes a long way in terms of sustaining and growing the Hotel

Hope to see you again soon.

Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing