We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
ancaster
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First of all, the location of this hotel is spectacular and is it one of the grande old dames. We could watch the whales from the airy breakfast room. Our room, however, needed some updating and is very tired. The staff is, however, great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdkdkdkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear dkdkdkdkdk,

First of all, I just want to state that I am not being hostile here, but I must state the obvious which is you obviously WRITE TripAdvisor reviews but I don't think you read TripAdvisor reviews. If you did you would not have been disappointed, but you may even have been pleasantly surprised.
As you state, the value is good, the location is spectacular, the staff is great, the cleanliness is good. So had you read the previous reviews you would've been aware of the situation of the hotel. I urge you to read before you write in the future.
Having said that, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    246
    171
    48
    30
See reviews for
162
310
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

wonderful hotel like stepping back in time, the veiws from the room were outstanding watching whales from your room cant beat that, loved it. Breakfast very good. Sataff ery helpful I just loved it The area is a truly lovely. I cannot fault this resort, love to go back but a long way to go.

Room Tip: Sea veiw amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyanalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Kyanalbi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to writing about your experience at The Windsor Hotel on TripAdvisor. We love constructive criticism but every now and then we like a good old pat on the back just to let us know that there are still people out there who really appreciate the quaintness of our hotel. I think you are one of those.

On behalf of my staff and I let me say thank you yet again and we truly look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel was a little tired in the rooms but very well looked after. Right on the waters edge and ask for a sea facing room, for the whale watching. The hotel matched the old charm of Hermanus and I would easily go there again. Breakfast only Restaurant overlooks the bay and food is good. Wonderful cliff top walks with great photo opportunities. A group of 20 and all enjoyed our stay. Saw whales on 2 occasions but a bit of a distance away from shore....still loved it

Room Tip: No evening meals here so went to OSKA in the square. Eclectic charm and quality food without the hub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Bernie P,

Thank you for your straightforward, honest and constructive review of our hotel.

My only regret is that you didn't see whales closer to the shore, that really is a sight to see and well worth coming back one day for.

Should you find yourself in Hermanus again in the future you know you are always welcome at The Windsor Hotel.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Lovely guy on reception, (Haikona sp?) who went out of his way to help us out. We had accumulated a few things along our travels from various markets that needed refrigeration and he was very helpful in organizing this. Such a friendly smile as well, nothing too much trouble. Had 2nd floor room with amazing view. Comfortable room and so nice to hear the ocean through the night. Room could do with a small fridge though. Loved the welcoming drinks on arrival, nice touch. Hotel is a bit quirky which we thought suited the seaside location. Small rooms and areas for guests to relax and enjoy. Pleasant dining room for breakfast and again, terrific view. Sort of place that you’d like to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byo3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear byo3142,

I love it when somebody remembers the name of one of my staff members in a positive way as you have. My staff are extremely committed to trying to provide the best possible service we can and when one of them stands out to the point that a guest remembers their name, well what more could I possible ask for? Thank you for recognizing Akhona's individual contribution to making your stay a pleasant one.
Your description of our "quirkiness" I think is apt. We will continue to endevour to improve ourselves and we look forward to you coming back one day and informing us if we are in fact going in the right direction.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel about 4years ago. Best position in Hermanus. Breakfast was good. We had a front ground floor bedroom balcony small. Hotel clean . If updated could have been the best position and hotel in Hermanus. Didn't do evening meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normahearsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Normahearsum,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about the Hotel on TripAdvisor. As you state we're a good value and clean hotel that offers good service with an excellent location and we appreciate that you recognized that. As you state we don't do an evening meal, this is because we have such a variety of restaurants in a short walkable distance from the hotel. As you, no doubt experienced.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Windsor Hotel.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Clean and comfortable 3 star hotel with good and adequate buffet breakfast. Rooms have a great view over the water at front so can watch whales swimming past. Found lock on bedroom door very stiff initially and would have liked a door handle on bathroom door so it could be closed. Stayed as part of a large group and found staff polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Avril84,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

Negatives first, I really appreciate your comments about the door handles and we have actioned a plan today to get that situation rectified. Constructive criticism like this is very appreciated.

As for the positives, thank you so much for your kind comments. We plan to improve on these as well so as to provide the best possible service we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Windsor soon.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

You won't stay in a better 3 star in SA. I stayed here as part of a tour and found it a great antidote to the chain hotels we stayed in elsewhere. You can watch the whales from your balcony or cross the road if you want to get a bit nearer. The place is full of character and antique furniture - and friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view and balcony but check
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Kuepper,

Wow, when someone who's well traveled like you (87 reviews) writes kind comments like this we are most humbled. My staff and I thank you very much for taking the time to write these comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Windsor Hotel.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing