We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location,greast service,older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
CPT-South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good location,greast service,older hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

the hotel is perfectly situated.Price was good.It is an older hotelStaff are very friendly and helpful.Breakfast was really good.Views from hotel is breathtaking.
It could do with some upgrading.Rooms and furniture are old.The place has an older look, as it is one of the oldest hotels.
We have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABAAJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear ABAAJacobs,

Thank you for taking the time out to writing about your experiences at The Windsor Hotel, we really appreciate your feedback and can improve on some of those.

As you have stated we are the oldest hotel in Hermanus and at 118 years old we are among one of the oldest hotels still operational in the whole of South Africa.

I'm sure you can appreciate that sometimes things take a little longer to upgrade in a hotel such as this, but that is not an excuse and we are working on several ways to pick up the pace of rejuvenating our grand old lady.

Thanks to guests like you, this is a reality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Windsor Hotel.

Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    246
    171
    48
    30
See reviews for
162
310
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the best stay in this lovely old hotel. I have not had such a "child friendly" experience in years. We all felt utterly welcome, the beds was good to sleep on and the breakfast the best. Best of all was an entertainment room for the children. I just loved the staff. As parents you often feel you need to keep your kids quite when you are in hotels, but this one was totally a ball! Thank you for the best holidays ever! We love the Windsor XX

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear rechner,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The Windsor. Your comments are most kind and inspirational to us at the same time.

Although we've always had a kids room available, we decided this year to put a little more effort into it. Based on the huge success we had during the holiday season we've been inspired to further develop the kids facilities, so we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had an amazing holiday in Hermanus - stunning view from our hotel room. Staff friendly - always polite. Breakfast always tasty - scrumptious and most enjoyable. Rooms clean and pleasant to walk into. The friendly owl in the courtyard made each morning a regular check- in point.
Close to all key restaurants so hardly needed the car in the evenings.

Room Tip: As there is no pool be prepared for some rather hot days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Tina P,

Thank you for your kind words that you have written on Tripadvisor and thanks for making mention of our resident owl who by the way is still here (and we're considering charging him a rate for staying here).

Your comment about a pool has not gone unnoticed and we are presently drafting plans to have a pool in place hopefully by next summer. Please keep a look out for your personal invite to our very first pool party.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here one night on a recent Travelsphere tour of South Africa.We had a sea view room with balcony which was exceptional.The room/ hotel was quirky and full of character but you would not expect anything different in a hotel of it's age - anyone living in or visiting the UK will/should have experienced similar hotels of character and it is a refreshing change from some of the stereotypical hotels you often stay in.Our room did not have a safe but on request the member of staff on reception immediately placed our valuables in the hotel safe.
Breakfast was good and set us all up well for the long day ahead of us.
Glad we did miss this hotel in our itinerary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THORPER121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear THORPER121,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Windsor Hotel and would like to thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor.

We loved your use of the word "quirky" and believe that this may be a word in a good sense that represents us.

Thank you so much for comparing us to the "bland stereotypical corporate hotels". We try very hard to be the opposite of that by giving genuine heartfelt hospitality and real friendly service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Windsor Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have read most of the reviews for the Windsor on TripAdvisor... and we think most people are just full of nonsence.
We are 2 adults and 2 children and we are staying in 1 lovely sea-facing room with adequate space and a balcony. The view is out of this world. We made a booking for 3 nights, but would like to stay another night.
This hotel has a 5 star breakfast, 5 star service, everything is neat and clean and working, there is a playroom for the kids and even a childminder. They have a lovely foyer with a bar where you can sit and relax at any time. They have free wifi. The hotel is situated in the heart of Hermanus with lovely restaurants within walking distance. So really -what is there to complain about?
We will definitely return for another stay :) Thank you to the Windsor for making our breakaway special and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardre_le_Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Mardre_le_Roux

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time for writing your review. My staff and I are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We at The Windsor believe in trying to provide a good clean hotel that offers great service and a quality breakfast and that allows people to enjoy their much deserved holiday in an environment as beautiful as ours. So when we read your comments we feel we are achieving our goals.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Windsor Hotel.

Kind regards,

Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Hermanus, but the structure is very old , the room are really dirty and the bathroom old, with not well working shower and bkokend tile.
The receptionist is not very kind and is impossible any kind of service during the night.
Please avoid this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gousteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Gousteau,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.

Although you are not specific about which room and which staff member you had an issue with, you gave me a wonderful opportunity which was for me and my executive team to personally go and inspect every single room in the hotel. After having done this I believe we have addressed many small areas. I must confess I did not sea this "dirtiness" that you speak about, but there were issues to be addressed. As for the staff member, please could you provide me with further details on my personal e-mail (blake@windsorhotel.co.za) as there is no excuse for bad service.

I apologize for what has happened to you and I can assure you that we will do everything in our power to make sure that your next visit to The Windsor Hotel will be one that you will be overwhelmingly happy with.

Kind regards,
Blake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

If you want to see whales from the dry comfort of your own room, then this Old Lady of an hotel is perfect. Apart from the projectors etc that enabled us to see big screen rugby, the place has hardly changed since our first visit in 1996. Yes it's a bit faded, creaking and in need of some modernisation, but it does the job it sets out to do and at an extremely good value 3Star price. Would not hesitate to stay here again if the need arises.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear AviationSpirit,

Only 4 times in 17 years? Come on we expect more. But on a serious note, thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate them. There is nothing more important than a returning guest and to have a guest who's returned again and again and again is a great honor.

I have noted your comments and I can assure you that we have plans to upgrade and modernize large parts of the hotel.

You would've noticed that we now have free W-Fi throughout the whole hotel. Although this is just a small step, there are many more to come, however we will never lose our good old fashion homely service and feeling so you will always have that special little place to visit whenever you find yourself down this side of the world again.

My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back again, and again, and again...

Kind regards,
Blake and The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing