We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location, very friendly staff, excellent accommadation”

56 Mitchell Street Guesthouse & Spa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
56 Mitchell Street Guesthouse & Spa
Ranked #45 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic location, very friendly staff, excellent accommadation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday with friends, it was made even more special when we were looking to book accommadation in Hermanus and the tourist info came up with this little gem.
When we arrived we were welcomed by a lovely lady called Brenda, she showed us around twovery spacious rooms upstairs which each had a four poster bed, sofa, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities. The En-suite bathrooms were also spacious with large walk in showers. There was also plenty of wardrobe space and a safe for your valubles. Also just outside the bedrooms we had our own private lounge area to relax in
Breakfast was lovely with a choice of english breakfast or continental.
Brenda and her staff couldn't do enough for us, so much so that we returned to spend the last few days of our holiday there to relax, making full use of the Braai (BBQ to us).
This is a must for anyone visiting Hermanus. For golfers such as ourselves the Hermanus GC was a two minute drive away, the course is 27 holes and well worth a visit. Town centre is also a few minutes walk away with plenty of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBates15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed only the one night heading east. The guest house has a pool/garden where guests can relax and is well situated to walk into town safely. Rooms were a good size with good sized ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was good with an excellent selection. Only downside was we almost missed breakfast due to being told the wrong times the previous day however we managed to catch them in time so all was well in the end!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mitchell Street Village in Hermanus for 3 nights during the Whale Festival in September. It is centrally located, one block from the Main Road, a short walk to shops, restaurants and the ocean.

The guest house comprises two separate houses on the same property each with its own pool (the 2nd house was closed for renovations). The surrounds, garden and pool area are beautifully landscaped - including sculpted trees and plants at the entrance.

We had a suite on the second floor, which had a private balcony overlooking the garden and pool. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated with comfortable king size bed. The bathroom had a large shower and smallish bath. A full English breakfast is served in the cosy lounge which has a beautiful country-styled, en-suite kitchen. The staff were friendly and accomadating.

The normal rack rate for the suite is quite expensive when compared to other area guest houses and B&Bs some of which have rooms with sea views. We were fortunate to receive a 50% discount from the normal rate, which we felt was excellent value.

All in all, I would reccommend the Mitchell Street Village if you're looking for a quiet, cosy and relaxing weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

This guesthouse has two sections with a pool at either end. We stayed in between Christmas and New Years. Our room was beautiful with patio doors leading out to the pool deck area on one side and a small private courtyard with external exit to the front parking area i.e. easy access to car without walking though common areas of the guest house. The room decor is white with (tasteful) accents of animal prints and dark wood furniture including a king sized four poster bed.

The bathroom was finished to a high standard spec.

There is a lovely pool, pool deck and outside honesty bar/lounge area.

The standard of accomadation would warrant a five star review. This four star review was because of a couple of things which took away from our stay while we were there. There was significant noise at night in the room. This was a number of things, a very noisy fidge, perspex glass on the skylight combined with a heavy rainshower over night, owners dog barking early in the morning and finally low level music throughout the night. We thought the music was coming from another guest room but realised the next day that it was the ambient music from the outdoor bar/lounge area. It was not noticeable on the second night.

The other quibble related to the owner/manager. She was aloof and unwelcoming and did not introduce herself to us while we were there. We stopped to make an enquiry and she continued to issue instructions to staff staying that someone would be with us in a minute. We waited!

Our 12yr old son was with us and when we went down to breakfast we were allocated a two person table with a seat on the side for him (he is 5ft 4 and all elbow and knees at the moment). The dining room was full and we accepted this but soon realised that some of the diners were family members, daugher and the owner herself! When family members use a business facilities there is a drop in the service to paying guests. Apart from the feeling that we were intruding on a private party, the daughter kept taking the coffee pot to the "family" table and guests had to look around for it. We were allocated the same table of the second morning also despite there being other tables available.

There was a larger bar and outdoor seating area on the other side of the guest house. On the second night this area had many guests having a good time well into the night. Not sure if this was part of the private family party or guests but it did not disturb us on our side of the house.

The guest house is less than 10mins walk from Hermanus old harour and shops/restaurants so great location.

We were extremely luckly to see Southern Right Whales in the old harbour during our stay as December is out of season.

  • Liked — decor, design and pool area
  • Disliked — Noise and feeling like we were intruding on family gathering
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
Hortensia Lodge
Hortensia Lodge
#57 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jakasa Guesthouse
Jakasa Guesthouse
#64 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whale Away Guest House
Whale Away Guest House
#48 of 87 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twentyfour17 Inn
Twentyfour17 Inn
#53 of 87 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#11 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 56 Mitchell Street Guesthouse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 56 Mitchell Street Guesthouse & Spa

Property: 56 Mitchell Street Guesthouse & Spa
Address: 56 Mitchell Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Mitchell Street Village)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Hotel Class:3 star — 56 Mitchell Street Guesthouse & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing