We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pat's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pat's Place B&B
Ranked #33 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Couldn't ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I just spent two nights at Pat's Place with two friends of mine from London - I am local Capetonian - and we thought this was the very best! Clean crisp bedding and towling, a warm and friendly reception that I think goes beyond the expected 'duties' of an hostess. The breakfasts were excellent, and Suzanne throws all the guests together for breakfast, which is an ideal opportunity to get to know and chat to people. Thank for this ecellence. Thank you also for the complimentary drink outside in the beautiful garden. I would fully recommend it and return at the earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a wonderful stay! The most stylish , comfortable and clean B&B . Beautifully appointed rooms with the best quality linen and towels. Lovely out door hot shower. Delicious breakfast and a warm , friendly and happy host Suzanne who took very good care of us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I stayed here for one night with some family friends. We were 5 adults and looking for a place to stay and decided on Pats Place because it had good reviews and it has received a 4 start rating by the travel and tourism board. All I can say is that it was the furthest hotel from 4 stars that I have ever experienced.

We got given one of the outer cottages in order to fit all 5 adults. The whole cottage was dirty, the fireplace had not been cleaned out, there was hair on the bedsheets and they did not even look like they had been cleaned. The couches were dirty and you felt disgusted sitting on them. The garbage had not been emptied from the previous stay. The bathrooms were in a terrible state and not to mention when we got back from dinner and wanted to have a shower there was no hot water. So therefore we were not able to take a shower. Two of the bedrooms were inside the cottage and another one was on the terrace so it was susceptible to the cold weather. They assured us it would be warm as they had an electric heating blanket in the bed. That didnt work either!!

To top it all off the whole cottage had not been heated and was absolutely freezing. The staff and manager were unfriendly and were not willing to give a helping hand.

All in all, working in the hospitality industry and paying the amount we paid for that room you would expect a hell of a lot more than what we got. I can say that it was among my top three worst hospitality experiences of my life. Whatever you do, dont go!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Thank you to Suzanne and the staff at Pat's Place for the great hospitality and very relaxed time. Nothing was too much bother to help us and the vibe at Pat's Place is very friendly and inviting. A home from home!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at Pat's Place for two nights with a group of seven people. So I could see several rooms and lodges. All of them impressed me by ther affection in the details. Susan, the host, gave us a very cordially welcome. The breakfast was very comprehensive in its choice. Ther was nothing to complain. Susan was so kind that she booked for us some restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Very accommodating owner, Suzanne, who booked an evening meal for us at a good restaurant located a 15 minute walk away. The rooms were nice but a little noisy, both from the petrol station next door at night (which is convenient during the day as it joins onto a small shopping arcade) and the other guests/staff in the early morning (all guest rooms lead out onto a hall which is joined onto the dining room). The breakfast was good but there is one large dining table so it is a sociable affair which may or may not suit. One definite plus was the outdoor bath with running hot water, I loved it, but more reserved folk may not be willing to partake as you do feel very close to customers of the garage next door. There is a very nice swimming pool at the back of the property however.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

The apparoach to Pat's Place can be very deceptive as it is situated on the main road en route to Voelklip; you may think you're in for a noisy stay. Fear not...this property is enormous and I can assure you extremely quiet. Each room has unique features eg double outside hot and cold shower and a victorian bath in the en suite bathroom; another has a double shower in the en suite and an outdoor victorian bath. Each room has a private enclosed patio. Breakfast is served in the large dining room; scrumptious fruit platters with yoghurt, eggs done to order, bacon, toast, generous helpings of toast and lots of coffee. Suzanne is a wonderful hostess; caring, helpful and knowledgeable. Do not miss out on staying at this excellent Guest House when you're in Hermanus; the best value in town and unsurpassed comfort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whale Away Guest House
Whale Away Guest House
#47 of 87 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#6 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pat's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's Place B&B

Property: Pat's Place B&B
Address: 245 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing