We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat”
Review of Pat's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pat's Place B&B
Ranked #35 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Thank you to Suzanne and the staff at Pat's Place for the great hospitality and very relaxed time. Nothing was too much bother to help us and the vibe at Pat's Place is very friendly and inviting. A home from home!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Pat's Place B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at Pat's Place for two nights with a group of seven people. So I could see several rooms and lodges. All of them impressed me by ther affection in the details. Susan, the host, gave us a very cordially welcome. The breakfast was very comprehensive in its choice. Ther was nothing to complain. Susan was so kind that she booked for us some restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Very accommodating owner, Suzanne, who booked an evening meal for us at a good restaurant located a 15 minute walk away. The rooms were nice but a little noisy, both from the petrol station next door at night (which is convenient during the day as it joins onto a small shopping arcade) and the other guests/staff in the early morning (all guest rooms lead out onto a hall which is joined onto the dining room). The breakfast was good but there is one large dining table so it is a sociable affair which may or may not suit. One definite plus was the outdoor bath with running hot water, I loved it, but more reserved folk may not be willing to partake as you do feel very close to customers of the garage next door. There is a very nice swimming pool at the back of the property however.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The apparoach to Pat's Place can be very deceptive as it is situated on the main road en route to Voelklip; you may think you're in for a noisy stay. Fear not...this property is enormous and I can assure you extremely quiet. Each room has unique features eg double outside hot and cold shower and a victorian bath in the en suite bathroom; another has a double shower in the en suite and an outdoor victorian bath. Each room has a private enclosed patio. Breakfast is served in the large dining room; scrumptious fruit platters with yoghurt, eggs done to order, bacon, toast, generous helpings of toast and lots of coffee. Suzanne is a wonderful hostess; caring, helpful and knowledgeable. Do not miss out on staying at this excellent Guest House when you're in Hermanus; the best value in town and unsurpassed comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Really well kept b&b. Super room with en suite bathroom, also small private walled patio with shower (Hot and cold water!). House kitchen nearby for use of fridge, tea making etc., and owners swimming pool available for use.
Excellent breakfasts. Nearby are small supermarket, bookshop/newsagent, hair dresser, cafe, petrol garage, all very convenient. Owner who lives in separate house to rear very helpful. Perhaps ten minutes walk to town, and also easy access to cliff paths made it a lovely place for our eight nights there. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDDBedford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

My girlfriend surprised me with a trip to South Africa for my birthday.
She booked Pat's Place online without knowing anything about the bed and breakfast. She knew something was different when she told me how sweet the manager,Suzanne, was in their email correspondence prior to our arrival. When we arrived, we found out what we were in for. Pat's Place is like nothing we've experienced before. It is a BEAUTIFUL place. We stayed in the honeymoon suite called Sabonka. The room was exquisite. The back door led to our own private courtyard with an amazing jacuzzi tub. The tub was surrounded by candles. Each morning we would wake up and go the dining room where perfectly sliced fruit was waiting. We sat and spoke with the other guests who were from all over the world. Suzanne would then come to the table and personally make whatever we desired for breakfast. Suzanne, who maintains Pat's Place, is possibly the sweetest, kindest, most genuine person I've ever encountered. She took her time to make us feel at home and even drove us(in her personal car) to a local diner. Suzanne IS the reason our stay was sooooo wonderful. I will return to Hermanus, South Africa and when I do I will ONLY stay at Pat's Place.
Pat's Place surpasses any place you will stay. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vacationnotwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Pat's Place is Perfection!

We stayed for 2 nights in November in the fantastic town of Hermanus.

Welcome
We were made very welcome to Pat's Place by a member of the owner's staff - Flora, who was welcoming and showed us to our room while the propretior arrived. Suzanne, the owner is delightful and made us so welcome into her home.

Facilties
Our room was 'the honeymoon suite' which comprised of a lovely sunny room, squishy sofa and lovely bathroom. We had an outdoor coutyard with a sunken bath, and also tables and chairs.

Breakfast
Was served in a lovely dining room. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to our taste.

Location
On arrival, Suzanne informed us that the whales. were 'performing' in the bay (which we weren't sure about but when we got to the sea- less than a ten minute walk - the whales really were performing!) Suzanne also gave us two excellent restaurant recommendations. The location is excellent and an easy walk to town. It is also next to an well stocked wine shop - say no more!

Suzanne was also really helpful in sorting out the last minute arrangements with our Shark Diving experience. Nothing was too much trouble!


I would highly recommend Pat's Place for your trip to Hermanus - enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 85 in Hermanus
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
0.4 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#9 of 85 in Hermanus
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twentyfour17 Inn
Twentyfour17 Inn
#47 of 85 in Hermanus
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#22 of 85 in Hermanus
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gregoire Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pat's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's Place B&B

Address: 245 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £13 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing