We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view, service and food!”

Spookfontein Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, service and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My new favorite restaurant in Hermanus. I felt like I was having dinner with friends in their magnificent home! Very relaxed and eclectic environment, whilst still feeling you are dining out somewhere special, elite and unique. Lovely for the kids to play and run free. You can take your own wine. No corkage - bonus! As the food is all freshly caught/farmed the chef has her challenges to keep Everyone happy. Being a Banting follower I did struggle but they fell over themselves to accommodate me and made me a fabulous salmon and caviar salad! Outstanding. Just love it. Make sure you book and if you are a fussy eater, just check with them, they really are ethical in every sense and sooooo accommodating . Great to have such a wonderful new choice in town with spectacular views.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A fresh way of presenting tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This new restaurant at Spookfontein Wine Estate in the Hemel and aarde Valley is a pleasant addition to the array of restaurants in the valley. The restaurant has a lovely sunny feel to it with high windows and beautiful views down the valley. The archtect achieved a good ambience with round walls and curved ceiling with an interesting ceiling.
The food is good, but even better is the presentation of all the ensemble, salad and starch on a slice of a tree trunk. The choice of rough salts and pepper to be ground by yourself with your own little pestle adds to the interesting dining experience.
The sun can become a problem in the afternoons and you should be careful with the choice of table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistent service; efficient, friendly management and staff. Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We always have a really great experience when we eat at ELL. The staff are well trained and friendly. The blackboard menu is always interesting and varied. Views are magnificent. Management and staff have the right recipe for a successful restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A new place ,always a treat!A lovely venue with wonderful views and a great vibe even the restrooms are nice!
We had a warm welcome from Norah ,great service and the food was good !
It is informal and laid back with easy food,the kitchen is part of the dining area so one sees what
Is happening at the work station.
Children are also welcome.
They will definitely see us again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarthaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The view is amazing and the mezze platter tastes like more. The only thing lacking is a liquor licence, but that didn't bother us because we did some wine tasting anyway. Keep it up !!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoSM2153WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spookfontein Restaurant also viewed

 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Spookfontein Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing