We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days and I must say the couple who own it were so friendly and kind.... The rooms were stunning and the entire house was wonderful. The only downside to the place was that we stayed in May and I must say it was rather chilly. We had heaters in our rooms but the lounge area etc was not warm atall and found ourselves sitting around in our woollies..... I would definitely stay there again though....... Loved it

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front overlooking the sea...................
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexdeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    73
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
226
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Amazing! It is the only word that I can think of that defines not only this beautiful guest house but also the owners Kubos and Isobel. During our stay our friend got a raging toothache and it soon got sorted out by an appointment being made at the local hospital for a root canal. Then some idiot (ME!!) left our passports in the safe in the room and while I was wailing about what I had done - it was being packed up and couriered to our next stop!
The outlook from our room was fabulous and the beach (Grotto) was just a short walk away. As we were there in May we did not actually see any Whales from the large balcony but next time we will book during whale season and we will be even more amazed. Truly worth a visit you will love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziegrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have traveled to every continent (save Antarctica), and this may be the best overall place I have stayed. The proptietors clearly love their establishment, and that love shines through in the care they take for even the smallest details. It is simply a joy to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nordbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

It's taken a while to get around to writing a review of the Lavender Guest House, having stayed there some months back when we visited Hermanus as part of a tour of the Western Cape of South Africa. But I promised the staff that I would offer up a well-deserved review of praise, and so here it is.

When we visited, the owners themselves were out of town, but the couple that were looking after the guesthouse were wonderfully hospitable and had us checked in and up to the room within minutes, having offered to help with luggage and then offer advice on what to do and see while in the area. Having studied the guesthouse's website prior to making our booking, I chose the sea-facing room 1 and its spectacular view of the water. The room was magnificent and had everything you could want. The bathroom, too, was amazing with a deep bathtub which we used a few times during our stay, especially after some intense hiking we did along the coastline.

Come the evening, the hospitality bar in the sitting room area and terrace part of the hotel is a real boon. Simply help yourself to a pre-dinner cocktail or drink and mark off what you have consumed. Of course, it relies on guests and their honesty, but drinks are inexpensive and it would amaze me if folks didn't record what they had drunk. Many an evening saw us sat out on the terrace area with a cool beer or G&T in our hand. Plus, there are a number of books and games you can help yourself too which helps you relax fully.

The staff were amazingly helpful in making dinner reservations for us and we sampled a few of the delightful restaurants in Hermanus town itself. When we returned every evening and retired, we found the guesthouse wonderfully transformed into a sea of candles which was lovely.

Sleep comfort in the bed was great and we woke every morning to the best part of the hotel, the sumptuous breakfast buffet. Every day, we sat outside on the veranda over looking the sea again and were served truly scrumptious food and great coffee.

In total, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at the Lavender Manor Guesthouse - the establishment is lovely, the food and bar very good and the staff spectacular. We hope to return one day and enjoy the South African hospitality once more.

Room Tip: We chose room 1 because of the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely stay linen and towels superb, very clean and spacious with three large areas to sit and enjoy the views. Beach only a step away with a nice little bar near the beach. Hermanus great! Loved all of it. Breakfasts divine and very fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea.all the rooms are very spacious and comfortable, there is no fitness centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Rooms were spacious, incredibly clean, attention to detail was spot on. The beds were so comfortable, we were very tired, however a great nights sleep sorted that. Staff were attentive and the breakfast was Devine! Telescope was a lovely touch, we watched the whales, perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyUKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Lavender Manor was the last stop on a 2 week holiday on the Garden Route. It was the best accommodation we stayed in without doubt. The owners are friendly and helpful and have decorated the place to the highest standard, there is space to move and the finishing touches are superb, down to the sprig of lavender on each plate. One could not fault the place and it has a touch of class not seen elsewhere. Isabel and Kobus should be mighty proud of what they have achieved. We would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We would image all rooms are immaculate but ones at the front have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
410 reviews
3.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Property: Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Address: 184 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing