We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Stayed at some fabulous hotels on our tour of South Africa, with two friends, but this Guest House was my favourite. As the name suggests it has a "lavender" theme, with sprigs of lavender in the bathrooms and on the pillows. The rooms were large as were the bathrooms and very well equipped with bathrobes and slippers.

There is a very well stocked honesty bar and nothing was too much trouble. On our first night there was a power cut and we returned to find candles lit in our room, the bathroom, and all up the staircase - magical!

The breakfast was also excellent, one of the best we had even in the more expensive hotels.

A must is the cliff walk. It takes about 90 minutes but the views are stunning and we were followed the whole way by a family of whales.

We were recommeded the Quayside Cabin restaurant and were so impressed we ate there both nights. They even managed to serve us a fabulous meal in the power cut!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    70
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
223
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

To our UK minds, guest house conjured up a smaller place - Lavender Manor will blow you away.

It was a bit further out of Hermanus than we realised but if you have a car or can walk the coast path there and back in daylight it is OK. Be warned, getting taxis in Hermanus is hard and because of this they charge you a lot.

The rooms are in the main building or another behind. Our travel agent specifically asked our friends and I be booked into rooms 5 and 6 which are in the other building. They are absolutely huge, both the bedroom and the bathroom. We had Jack and Jill sinks with a lovely nautical theme. The furnishings are beautiful with little twigs of Lavender everywhere. The building at the back (as does the main building) has a separate lounge out to sea so you can watch the whales (complete with telescope). As the weather was not good the day we got there, we just spent a couple of hours chilling out in there which it is also perfect for. They supply tea/coffee and home made biscuits.

The breakfast is served in the main building in another spacious room. You are offered a full cooked breakfast but there is always something extra too. the food was fresh and tasty.

We were able to use their office to quickly use the internet and our queries were efficiently answered.

The coast path which you can access just across the road is lovely - apart from one bit where you have to walk on the road. We were there in the whale season and it took us ages to walk into Hermanus, stopping to look at the whales who were so close to the shore.

We ate at Cafe Marimba both nights which had been recommended to us. It is a great place, very casual with food you will not have tried if you live outside of Africa. A good vegetarian choice too. It is just off the main street, by KFC.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

What a lovely stay we had here. Really impressed with our room considering how reasonably priced this guest house is. The staff are very warm and welcoming. The room (1) was very spacious with lovely little touches like a mini bottle of port and easy find matches to light the candles in our beautiful bathroom with roll-top bath.

The bed was very comfortable with top quality linen and they had left different varieties of magazines to flick through.

Breakfast was very good and service was excellent. Five minute drive to the main whale watching cove but we could still see some splashing about in front of our room.

Have already recommended Lavender Manor to our friends in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kf8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

I have stayed at this guest house 3 times in the past 18 months. Each and every time it is the same.... EXCELLENT.
The rooms are always clean, bathrooms with lovely fluffy towels, breakfasts to die for, beautiful views, the owners are always friendly and make you feel at home immediately.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarvBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Warm reception from hosts, beautiful spacious room. We had a room facing the sea and found that our room offered better whale watching than in town where there were none to be seen. Breakfast was superb with a huge variety. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

Wonderful warm hospitality, beautiful surroundings, outside and in! The owners couldn't be more helpful, ask for recommendations on places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

The rooms were spacious and beautifully adorned, with much attention to detail and far prettier than it appears on the website. Our room had a lovely ensuite bathroom and a balcony offering a view of the mountain ranges.
The hotel was well placed near the coast to see wales in the sea but was a 5 min drive out of the main town. Access is probably only by car.
Would recommend it to those looking for a boutique experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_12367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
5.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Property: Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Address: 184 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing