We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at Lavender Manor for five days in the middle of january and it really was a fantastic place to stay. It ticks all the boxes that one looks for in accommodation by the sea and the name guest house really does not do it justice.

It is located in the upmarket Voëlklip district in Hermanus just above Grotto Beach which means that it is very quiet and safe...most of the grand houses in the district did not even have fences, only low hedges and we felt perfectly safe walking around. On the other hand it is a fair hike into central Hermanus so you should really have a car.

The property is located in a nice garden and has two houses, the older (top-notch refurbished) main house mainly facing the ocean and the newer addition house mainly facing the mountains. The views of both the ocean and the mountains are great. In the main house you find the airy breakfast room with a breakfast terrace, a large cosy honesty bar and two roof terraces for sun and marvellous views of both ocean and mountain.

We stayed in the newer addition and the rooms there were simply grand. I have never slept in a larger hotel room and to that there was a balcony with fine views of the neighbouring gardens, walk-in closet and a very large bathroom with bathtub, walk-in shower and twin sinks.

The rooms vere nicely decorated, newly refurbished and kept marvellously clean...and yes..there was the nice touch of fresh lavender twigs everywhere.

The beds were really large and comfortable and had very nice bedlinen. At night it was so quiet that you could hear yourself thinking, even with the window open. Everyone of us said that we slept like babies there.

Breakfast was great with full english and/or continental buffet plus all that good south african fruit.

The owners and their staff were very friendly and welcoming. They helped us with all our needs and generally made us feel more as family guests than as hotel customers.

I would think that one cannot really find a guest house of such high standard in Europe!

Lavender Manor is located just a few minutes walk from the start of the beautiful cliff walk along the coastal cliffs into Hermanus and also just a few minutes walk from the start of the fantastic Grotto beach where you can walk for miles along the ocean and the sand dunes. At Grotto beach there are good services like life-savers, changing rooms, bathrooms and sundbed rentals. You´ll also find the great beach restaurant Duchies there. It serves great food, both lunch and dinner, at great prices and the view of the sunset is fantastic. And it was really nice to be able to walk home from dinner at Duchies to the guest house and feel perfectly safe. We spent a few days at the beach just recuperating after the scandinavian winter we had escaped... It was a real plus that it only took five minutes to drive to the really fine Hermanus Golf Club .

All in all Lavender Manor is a great place to spend some days of relaxing seaside holidays in a luxurious atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    72
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
226
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Stayed at some fabulous hotels on our tour of South Africa, with two friends, but this Guest House was my favourite. As the name suggests it has a "lavender" theme, with sprigs of lavender in the bathrooms and on the pillows. The rooms were large as were the bathrooms and very well equipped with bathrobes and slippers.

There is a very well stocked honesty bar and nothing was too much trouble. On our first night there was a power cut and we returned to find candles lit in our room, the bathroom, and all up the staircase - magical!

The breakfast was also excellent, one of the best we had even in the more expensive hotels.

A must is the cliff walk. It takes about 90 minutes but the views are stunning and we were followed the whole way by a family of whales.

We were recommeded the Quayside Cabin restaurant and were so impressed we ate there both nights. They even managed to serve us a fabulous meal in the power cut!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol england
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

To our UK minds, guest house conjured up a smaller place - Lavender Manor will blow you away.

It was a bit further out of Hermanus than we realised but if you have a car or can walk the coast path there and back in daylight it is OK. Be warned, getting taxis in Hermanus is hard and because of this they charge you a lot.

The rooms are in the main building or another behind. Our travel agent specifically asked our friends and I be booked into rooms 5 and 6 which are in the other building. They are absolutely huge, both the bedroom and the bathroom. We had Jack and Jill sinks with a lovely nautical theme. The furnishings are beautiful with little twigs of Lavender everywhere. The building at the back (as does the main building) has a separate lounge out to sea so you can watch the whales (complete with telescope). As the weather was not good the day we got there, we just spent a couple of hours chilling out in there which it is also perfect for. They supply tea/coffee and home made biscuits.

The breakfast is served in the main building in another spacious room. You are offered a full cooked breakfast but there is always something extra too. the food was fresh and tasty.

We were able to use their office to quickly use the internet and our queries were efficiently answered.

The coast path which you can access just across the road is lovely - apart from one bit where you have to walk on the road. We were there in the whale season and it took us ages to walk into Hermanus, stopping to look at the whales who were so close to the shore.

We ate at Cafe Marimba both nights which had been recommended to us. It is a great place, very casual with food you will not have tried if you live outside of Africa. A good vegetarian choice too. It is just off the main street, by KFC.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

What a lovely stay we had here. Really impressed with our room considering how reasonably priced this guest house is. The staff are very warm and welcoming. The room (1) was very spacious with lovely little touches like a mini bottle of port and easy find matches to light the candles in our beautiful bathroom with roll-top bath.

The bed was very comfortable with top quality linen and they had left different varieties of magazines to flick through.

Breakfast was very good and service was excellent. Five minute drive to the main whale watching cove but we could still see some splashing about in front of our room.

Have already recommended Lavender Manor to our friends in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kf8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I have stayed at this guest house 3 times in the past 18 months. Each and every time it is the same.... EXCELLENT.
The rooms are always clean, bathrooms with lovely fluffy towels, breakfasts to die for, beautiful views, the owners are always friendly and make you feel at home immediately.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarvBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Warm reception from hosts, beautiful spacious room. We had a room facing the sea and found that our room offered better whale watching than in town where there were none to be seen. Breakfast was superb with a huge variety. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Wonderful warm hospitality, beautiful surroundings, outside and in! The owners couldn't be more helpful, ask for recommendations on places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
5.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Property: Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Address: 184 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing