We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Superb Experience”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This small guest house, seven or eight rooms, right on the sea is superbly run and managed by Petro and Mannes. Nothing is too much for them and it has to be said that the dinners prepared by 'chef' Mannes are delicious. The very well stocked wine cellar ensures you have the right bottle for whatever may be offered for dinner. All the staff are proactive and helpful.
It is a truely relaxing place with walks right along the sea's edge courtesy of a long walkway connecting the small hamlets on this part of the coast outside of Hermanus.
Great place to locate for a few days to explore the surrounding vineyards and restaurants.

Room Tip: Be aware that only one room right now has a sea view and that is the Scallop Suite, so be sure to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
128
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We visited Schulphoek Guest House in Winter. The view was spectacular and the room we had was roomy, luxuriously appointed and very comfortable. In addition, the friendly and accommodating hostess Pietro made us more than welcome with her generosity and helpfulness. She even gave us a bottle of a very nice red wine at the end of our visit. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and we would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Me, my wife and out 1 year old boy had the luck to stay 2 nights at this lovely guesthouse. When it comes to good service, fantastic food, amazing views of the ocean and tastfully decorated rooms this guesthouse should be the standard.

We really would like to thank Pietro who was such wonderful and charming host and Mannes who is an absolute star in kitchen. Breakfast and dinner were of quality, presentation and freshness. For wine lovers this guesthouse offers à fantastic wine cellar containing over 10.000 bottles.
T

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Was really a very nice familial guesthouse. They have several very big houses with most of them view beach and sea
Very comfortable, you can sleep there with several familys in one big house, two levels, with large kitchens, livingroom, bedrooms, bathrooms
They also have little houses for one family
It is worth to stop by and people of guesthouse very very nice and helpfull, and very good breakfast. They also organise dinner when you ask them
We sure will go back. We went there in oktober 2011 for the wedding of our son, and about 155 people came over from Belgian to them and they really organise it so well for all our family and friends

Room Tip: Depending with how many people you travel, but Petro the owner will give you the best advice, she is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annievde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had a nice room overlooking the bay from our window,and were able to see whales on one day. It was lovely to come back to eat so well at the guest house after a day of sight seeing. Petro and Greta were a great help when we were deciding what to do during the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This Guest House is certainly one to remember, and hopefully we will return. The whole experience was absolutely fantastic, and unique. The rooms were beautiful and well decorated, with fabulous bathrooms, and jacuzi baths in all of them! The garden/patio areas were lovely, and everything was kept in pristine condition. The fruit and vegetable garden was great as well - the passion fruits were just ripe when we arrived, which was put to great use in the cooking, what a treat! The food was absolutely wonderful, and we ate at the guest house every night, as no restaurant in Hermanus could best the quality, freshness and value of the food, which was cooked to perfection by Mannes - thank you. Every evening meal we chose wine from the fully stocked cellar, which was all local wine, before dining with all the other guests staying at the hotel, and also the manager, Petro - what a fantastic idea! It was great to get to know the interesting people staying at Schulphoek, and Petro, over a delicious meal. Petro was so welcoming, and helped to organise some amazing activities in and around the charming town of Hermanus. Also, how could this guest house be in a better location?! Looking over the bay at the whales drifting in... South Africa at its best - what a great experience. Thank you so much to Petro, Mannes, and all the wonderful staff at Schulphoek, we had a perfect stay, and will definitely be returning, and we will certainly be recommending this place to anybody going to South Africa.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were welcomed by Petro and the dinner was cooked by her husband, Mannes. What a joy! All guests are given the choice of dining apart from other guests or together at a long table. We chose to eat with everyone else and met some fascinating people from the Netherlands, Germany, the UK and South Africa. The food was sublime, and we chose our wine from a tremendous selection of South African wines in the cellar itself. Really nothing is too much trouble for Mannes and Petro, and we understand that many guests return year after year. The view of the bay is wonderful- and you can even see whales right outside the house! We LOVED it and we will certainly be back. By the way, you can swim here in their pool, and have massages in the treatment room.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite - think it's called Scallop - beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H2ofizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schulphoek, Manager at Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Judemymum
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Schulphoek.
We enjoy meeting wonderful travellers like you who share special moments and indeed leave an indelible imprint!
We hope to share a dinner and a toast together again in the future...
Thank you kindly
Petro & Mannes
& all at Schulphoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#4 of 86 in Hermanus
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
5.3 mi away
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
#26 of 86 in Hermanus
156 reviews
3.8 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#16 of 86 in Hermanus
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: 181 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schulphoek guesthouse overlooks the bay from which it received its name - an idyllic expanse of ocean, where whales are frequent visitors. Beyond its quiet beaches, you will find nature paths and bird watching. Just 5km from Hermanus centre, Schulphoek offers an eco-conscious refuge, with seven sumptuously decorated suites that overlook either our garden or the sea. Food is our passion. You will find a three-course menu du jour, served at our social table (or separate) with organic produce from our potager garden and fresh-line fish. Our cellar is a haven for aficionados, featuring 12,000 bottles of local wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing