We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is an ideally situated guest house right by the coast line. The guest house has decorated the rooms with attention to detail. A loverly welcome greets you once you have parked your car in the secure covered parking. The room greets you with dried fruit, nuts, teas, coffees and candles. You have the option of dinning with the other guests on a communal dining table, which we would recommend as you can here of other experiences of touring around South Africa. The food is DELICIOUS and the choice of wine is amazing. The hosts are warm and very knowledgeable. We went on a quad bike wine tour which was great fun. We only had one night stay in Hermanus and wished we had booked 3. This is a gem of a place, well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
128
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have just spent two nights in the Scallop suite and had the soundest sleep we have had for a long time. There is just a minor road (only saw one security vehicle use it) then the fynbos leading down to the coastal path - peace, perfect, peace. The suite has a multitude of power points suiting most plugs. Ample towels and the first place we have stayed at that has four wash hand basins! The hairdryer is a 'proper' one - much appreciated. The carpet has seen better days. We ate the first night at Schulphoek (part of the room rate) and enjoyed excellent food. Our only criticism was that even though we knew dinner was 7.30 for 8pm start, the actual service didn't start until 8.30pm which made the evening very late. Dessert was served at 9.45. Ok if you are with a group but a bit drawn out for a couple. The vegetable garden is fantastic. Well done to the gardener. The coastal path is excellent and is well worth walking to Onsrus and back - there is a nice little beach bistro there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

From the moment Petro greets you, through magnificent dinners prepared by Mannes, to their fond goodbye - a stunning experience. The wine in their extensive cellar covers all price levels and tastes.

The views from their lounge and dining room are breathtaking and a telescope is provided along with many wild life reference books. Try the coast path built by Mannes and his neighbours over the last few years. A place we return to wbenever we can.

Room Tip: They have rooms from double to honeymoon. Petro will find the right one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The hosts Petra and Mannus made us feel immediately welcome. Seafront location with sea views and tasteful luxurious rooms.
The highlight of this place for us was the amazing dinners in the evening and wonderful wine cellar
Hermanus has becoming a bustling town with lovely beaches and is close to a wine route.
Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed there for two nights last october. Execellent food, wines, service and hospitality! The Wine Cellar is remarkable! What a wonderful place to spend a weekend or holiday! We didn't miss a thing. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed the first night in the honeymoon suite which was very comfortable with a nice view, dinner was good but you are cajoled into buying a bottle of wine from their cellar which was overpriced. We shifted to the " Scallop" for the next two nights which whilst comfortable, the room opened out onto a patio which was shared by the other rooms and left little in terms of privacy as everyone else is sitting outside their rooms also. We booked on the basis that this was 5 star accommodation, however it was 4 at the very most. Way overpriced for what it was in our opinion.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossco888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our 2nd stay in this great b&b. Our 1st visit was several years ago so we wondered whether it would would be as good 2nd time round. I shouldn't have worried, it was. Fabulous location right next to the sea. There's a lovely swimming beach 10 minutes walk away (the sea is very cold but wonderfully refreshing). Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Meals are usually around a communal table, which is a great opportunity to meet the hosts and guests over a glass (or more) of wine. The food was really good, home cooked and freshly prepared. And you get to choose your wine from the extensive cellar at the b&b. The hosts are perfect, nothing is too much trouble. I can't imagine not coming back again...

Room Tip: Eat in and you can drink as much as you want !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
15.1 mi away
Blue Gum Country Estate
Blue Gum Country Estate
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
4.7 mi away
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
#7 of 41 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: 181 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schulphoek guesthouse overlooks the bay from which it received its name - an idyllic expanse of ocean, where whales are frequent visitors. Beyond its quiet beaches, you will find nature paths and bird watching. Just 5km from Hermanus centre, Schulphoek offers an eco-conscious refuge, with seven sumptuously decorated suites that overlook either our garden or the sea. Food is our passion. You will find a three-course menu du jour, served at our social table (or separate) with organic produce from our potager garden and fresh-line fish. Our cellar is a haven for aficionados, featuring 12,000 bottles of local wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing