We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wery nice and relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed fot two nights 31 june-2 july in the seahorse suite.
Wery nice and comfy suite, one big and one small bedroom, a big bathroom ( jacuzzy bath, and nice shower).
The beds very comfortable and cozy.
The hoste Manne, friendly and helpfull and let us look in to the wine collection.
The guesthouse looked like it whas all new but the owner told us that they been there for 13 years. They look after it wery well i think.
The breakfast whas nice and plenty and the dinner good and tasty and served with a smile.

A wery nice stay, and i can truly recommend it .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

Great view of the ocean, charming rooms, delicious and beautiful food and gracious hosts. Mannes is justifiably proud of his spectacular vegetable garden and impressive wine collection. The guesthouse itself was a very nice surprise after driving through a boring suburban neighborhood. Our room was very comfortable, pretty and spacious, with a large bathroom. Dining was family style but the food was great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schulphoek, Manager at Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

Dear Carl

We thank you for taking the time to share your memories of your stay at Schulphoek.
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and realise that it also is gracious guests like you who in turn leave indelible memories with us.

We hope to share the dinner table with you again in the future!

Thank you
Warm regards
Mannes & Petro
Chef Rebecca and all at Schulphoek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

My friend and I stayed in the scollop room at the beginning of December. What a fantastic room. Views out to the sea, our own massage chair, fantastic bathroom and bedroom. Lying in bed listening to the sea was wonderful. We also ate one evening which was also a wonderful experience. The hosts are chatty and fun. Hanns, has an amazing wine cellar which just before dinner you can choose a bottle of wine. I would definately stay here again. Everything was impecably clean, the swimming pool massage room just every part of the guest house was well looked after. When we departed our car had even been washed for us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This place is simply wonderful. Since getting back to England, I've been googling desperately to find the same combination somewhere here of incredible seafront location, extraordinary food, lovely communal areas, and comfy rooms, and I just can't!

The location of the sitting room is the real selling point. It has a wall of glass looking directly out onto the sea, just a few metres away (and they apparently see whales all the time, although it was too rough when we were there). There's a coastal walk you can do from just outside, which we loved - 20 minutes of windswept laughing and hunting about in rock pools made me feel like a happy little girl! And just sitting in that main room, with its banks of comfy sofas, looking out over the water, was amazing. They have a great capuccino machine, and you can ask for a coffee any time you want one, or help yourself to the extraordinary variety of drinks in their honesty bar, or to a slice of complimentary cake and just while away hours and hours. Can't recommend it enough!

The other big boon for us was dinner, which is complimentary on your first night (and only night for us, sadly). I've rarely had a better meal anywhere (including the odd Michelin-starred place when I'm feeling flush!). It's a four-course set meal with no choice, so you should let them know before you go if you have any special dietary requirements. The highlight was the venison pie, with the meat slow-braised so it was amazingly tender, and perfect pastry. My mouth's watering just thinking about it! I'd make the gentle warning that it's a very 'communal' experience, with everyone eating on one long table with the owners - most people seemed to love that, but we're quite private and asked for a separate table, which suited us better, so if you're the same way, you might want to do the same. I also have to say that I think there was a bit of the hard sell when it came to wine (and they have an extraordinary cellar), and I felt I was treated a little snappishly when I asked for a glass instead.

My only other little niggle would be our room itself (Perleimon, one of the standard ones). It was nicely decorated and had good facilities (including a comfy seating area and a great bathroom), but was fairly narrow and a little dark. Most of the rooms run down the side of the property, so they are at right-angles to the sea and don't have a view or much light coming in. However, the hotel's real wow factors are the meals, and the location and view of the living room, so any little disappointment with the room is really insignificant - we absolutely loved the place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

The room was nice and we got excellent tips for wine touring and whale sightings.
The dinner was amazing (and you get dinner for free on your arrival night!). We asked to be seated by ourselves which was very nice (I think we were the only English speaking guests at the time and a good bit younger than everyone else). If you are traveling as a couple, I would recommend this. This place is off the beaten path and we were advised not to walk around the nearby beach in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffaloali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Wonderful hospitality, luxurious rooms, fabulous food and stunning views, just perfect.

Located in Sandbaai which is a few Km from Hermanus centre and the fabulous Grotto Beach but with transport this is no problem at all.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art_Lover_Rochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We booked 2 nights and stayed in the Scallop suite, as we had read previous reviews that the other rooms were dark and did not have a sea view.
The room is Huge !
Fantastic views across the sea with a large window that opens out so you can listen to the sea while in bed.
Dinner is served on one long table with the other guests, and a small choice of dishes. The Chef talks you through the menu and takes you into the wine cellar which currently holds 12,000 bottles.
After discussing likes / dislikes on wine the chef helped us choose a fantastic bottle of wine.
We chose to eat out on 2nd night and they recommended restaurants and even booked horse riding for my wife which was the highlight of her trip to South Africa.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank CakeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.5 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
0.6 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 85 in Hermanus
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Gregoire Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Selkirk House
Selkirk House
#4 of 85 in Hermanus
231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#2 of 85 in Hermanus
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant

Address: 181 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £117 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schulphoek guesthouse overlooks the bay from which it received its name - an idyllic expanse of ocean, where whales are frequent visitors. Beyond its quiet beaches, you will find nature paths and bird watching. Just 5km from Hermanus centre, Schulphoek offers an eco-conscious refuge, with seven sumptuously decorated suites that overlook either our garden or the sea. Food is our passion. You will find a three-course menu du jour, served at our social table (or separate) with organic produce from our potager garden and fresh-line fish. Our cellar is a haven for aficionados, featuring 12,000 bottles of local wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing