We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One evening the sea was a seething mass of Southern Right Whales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
845 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“One evening the sea was a seething mass of Southern Right Whales”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We went to Hermanus because we had never seen whales and we were not disappointed. The Misty Waves was a lovely small hotel and we had one of the best rooms with a balcony overlooking the sea. Although it was motre expensive, we were not disappointed as we could sit on our enclosed balcony and watch the whales...which are up to 80 tons
The staff were very friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you visit Hermanus, go to Cape Agulhas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for mentioning the whales. It is unbelievable how our guests adores and enjoys them when watching them playing in the little bay in front of the hotel. The hotels registered slogan/trademark is “Lie in bed and watch the Whales” Not without valid reason.
We appreciate all the lovely comments and response from our visitors. The reception and other employees always excel with all these positive comments realising the importance of quality and personal service. It truly creates a culture to strive for excellence. Which our personal are upholding.
Thanks again – highly appreciated!
Misty Waves Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    209
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
97
451
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

What a beautiful hotel... We had an amazing time at Misty Waves... The rooms were gorgeous and both breakfast and dinner a treat... The staff were very helpful and we will definitely come back on our next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbie177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This was our second visit to The Misty Waves, and having only spent one night here previously (and enjoyed it so much!!) we decided to stay for four nights this time. On arrival, we were greeted in the car park, by smiling faces, after assistance with our luggage, and a chat about things we could do in and around Hermanus, we were then taken to our room and treated to a complimentary bottle of bubbly!!. There are so many things to do in Hermanus, so between relaxing by the pool, and drinking bubbly, and wondering around the town, we found time for a wine tasting tour in The Hemel En Aarde Valley, and a Quad Biking trip! This is without doubt one of the friendliest hotels we have visited, with beautiful decor, stunning views, and a fantastic location. I can't wait until our next visit!! Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollingYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed over last night and was robbed! We stayed in room 302 in the front on the street. We went for a short walk and when we returned the doors were kicked down and our lap tops, wallets and cell ohones AND about R26 000 in cahs were stolen. The owner wasnt sypmatheitc at all alll and acted very defencive even though he "upgraded" us to a room in the hotel. As everything was stolen, we didnt have any money to have dinner, he didnt even offered us anything to eat and this morning when we left they gave us a bill for R139.00 for drinks we had in the romm that was broken in to! This morning the owner acted defensively again towards my husband. There was no security at the gate since we arrived like there was supposed to be. The hotel is beautiful but the way the owner handled our situation was no good! Our loss made the experience very negative but he could have handled in a better way.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riapelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 16 April 2011
We refused to be black mailed by a guest. I have instructed the police to deal with the matter professionally and examine all the facts. Furious remarks and factual changes lead me to believe that this isn’t a clear cut case and that the water is exceptionally murky.
One of the examples of this was that not only did the guest leave their door open to the room but also a back door was opened as well as a and additional security door was open from the cottage to the main road ( under no circumstance may guest use or even open this door). Staff did ask them on more than one occasion to close the door.
This door remained open despite all our efforts and requests to keep the door locked. When the “supposed braking occurred – we were immediately notified and with in minutes of arriving to the cottage I noted that the “thief “did not steal a laptop clearly in view but made of with a supposed additional laptop. As well as cash amount. Another reason why we would happily let an investigation be done by the police is the fact that the amount of ONLY R2000 was mentioned to the police whilst an amount ten times more is being claimed stolen from the hotel. This does not make sense at all. Now things in my mind just don’t add up – the guests did not use the cottage safe. None of our security cameras show any entry into the premises. The guest told me in front of my staff in the cottage that A laptop was stolen but told the police 2 laptops were stolen. Maybe the guest made a mistake. The guest did not book to stay at the hotel but came to the hotel reception looking for a room and picked the cottage with a door leading to the small garden. The other door leads into a garden and an additional security door that guest are not allowed to use as we simply use this for maintenance. So the supposed break in happen with two doors broken into to get access to the cottage room. The other problem I have with the story is that guest time and the security cameras don’t reflect the same story. I also take exception to the fact that the guest did not pay for the alcoholic beverages for both rooms but claim to have done so. This is total and utterly incorrect!!! I found the guest evasive ( no eye contact) and when I confronted him regarding the allegations my staff made regarding his behavior and his non compliance with safety and leaving all the doors open – he could not give me a proper answer. If guests think they can take advantages of our small family hotel and our hospitality we are know for then they clearly have the wrong impression. Our business is based on honesty, integrity and allot of love not only to the hotel but staff and also guests alike...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We arrived late and the staff had stayed to welcome us. The room was large, spotless and with 'eclectic' furnishings. There is a small heated pool in a delightful 'garden' and it is a gorgeous 5 minute walk to the centre of the village. In season, thw whales come righty in to the bay. Sam (female) and Nora were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast too was excellent

Room Tip: Better rooms to the front but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

What a lovely hotel !. Beautiful room, wonderful views, very helpful staff, lovely breakfast and all at a reasonable price. Great location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Hermanus. The fresh flowers and chocs at bed turndown time was a nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely like to stay here when visiting South Africa again. Our only problem was that we could only manage to stay for 1 night :-(
.
Added bonus for us was seeing a huge pod of dolphins swim past as we were walking along the cliff path - wonderful :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillHossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Misty waves really exceeded our expectations. The Indian restaurant in the hotel had the most superb food. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing