We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Writing this somewhat retrospectively as its a Hotel that we felt passionate about. We loved this place so much that we returned a month later ...
Clinton, Natasha, Norah, and his totally friendly and efficient staff really go out of their way to make us at home ...beautiful rooms ( to rival the Marine Hotel)amazing sea views with fantastic en-suites and hearty breakfasts conspired to make the perfect stay.
Particularly helpful was advice regarding dining out and about and things to do.
There are lots of dining options within walking distance... Ocean Basket delicious seafood and wines at a very reasonable price. Misty Waves of an evening provides authentic Indian food absolutely delicious with wholesome portions.
Treated ourselves to the most delicious cocktails at the Marine Hotel (prices to stay 3 times more than Misty Waves) uber cool lounge with great seaviews..
Particularly noteworthy was the trip they booked for us to fly along the coast (African Wings) Evan the pilot met us so very friendy (great commentary) ... we taxied to take off through a vineyard ...then it was up and away he even managed to find us some whales swimming with their calf's...it is a journey that will stay with us forever....beyond spectacular. There are some great swimming beaches 10mins drive
Free internet access a boon.
Would recommend that you stay here ...

Room Tip: Talk with Clinton
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

We booked at Misty's for our honeymoon which should have happened beginning of April. Unfortunately we had to phone and inform them that due to unforseen circumstances we could not make the booked dates. They went out of their way to accommodate us at a later stage which was really special.

The location of the hotel is great. The view is spectacular to say the least. The room was so spacious and had such a lovely feel of warmth to it. Not to mention the spa bath and bubbly followe by a lovely chocolate fondue. The Indian restaurant served lovely dinners. Breakfast was also great and the friendly staff made it even more enjoyable.

The staff really made us feel so special and it was such a pleasure that we actually extended our stay with them.

A very big thank you to everyone at Misty's and we will most definitely be seeing you again!

Annie & Dion

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Just returned from a 2 day stay at Misty Waves. All we can say is that we had an excellent stay, the staff were most helpful and friendly. Our room was so spacious, had a spa bath and superb views overlooking the sea. The Indian Restaurant upstairs was superb as well as the views from there! We highly recommend this hotel and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Dear Guest

We appreciate your positive response. Thank you so much!
Thank you also to all the other guests responding! You cannot imagine how much excitement it creates amongst the personnel. As soon as the Duty Manager inform the staff that they received a response it almost creates chaos as everybody wants to read the response!
It is a highlight of the day, and urge personnel to even excel. Misty Waves is well-known for excellent service of their personnel.

Thanks again

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This was our second visit to Misty Waves!!! What can I say the staffs was perfect the food was great and the breakfast room with its Fire place certainly made for one of the most romantic breakfasts we have ever had. The View is Increadable with a larger school of dolphins passing the hotel on several times. Keep up the good work!!! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casenova1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My husband and I went to stay at the Misty Waves Hotel in Hermanus for our wedding anniversary! Well what a wonderful experience .Beautiful boutique hotel, lovely rooms, we even had bubbly in the jacuzzi and our own little chocolate fondue in our room! The staff was professional, helpful, and friendly. The breakfast was served in a restaurant with a beautiful view over the sea !

I just want to say thank you to all the staff and management from Misty Waves for making our anniversary so special ,you will definitely see us again!

Melanie Pretorius

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for the Balcony Rooms!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melaniep6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We recently became aware of Tripadvisor and looked at our destinations for the long weekend. We picked Misty Waves Hotel as the rates, location and the general feel of the ratings were very good. Next time I will continue to use Trip advisor. The hotel was everything we expected. The location was brilliant with only a few meters to town. The room we booked was equipped with all we could desire and even tough it was rather cold weather in Hermanus the hotel certainly warmed up our weekend. The hotel was buzzing with guests and the staff were Increadable and exceptionally well informed of the offerings in and around Hermanus. If you ever visit The Misty Waves book one of the top level rooms (room 502) – we did and we had a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DylanGoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We went to Hermanus because we had never seen whales and we were not disappointed. The Misty Waves was a lovely small hotel and we had one of the best rooms with a balcony overlooking the sea. Although it was motre expensive, we were not disappointed as we could sit on our enclosed balcony and watch the whales...which are up to 80 tons
The staff were very friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you visit Hermanus, go to Cape Agulhas
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for mentioning the whales. It is unbelievable how our guests adores and enjoys them when watching them playing in the little bay in front of the hotel. The hotels registered slogan/trademark is “Lie in bed and watch the Whales” Not without valid reason.
We appreciate all the lovely comments and response from our visitors. The reception and other employees always excel with all these positive comments realising the importance of quality and personal service. It truly creates a culture to strive for excellence. Which our personal are upholding.
Thanks again – highly appreciated!
Misty Waves Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
932 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £85 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing