We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Logding In Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Logding In Hermanus”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at the Misty Waves in November 2011. The staff was extremely accommodating helping us with various activities. They even sent a van to pick us up when we were caught in a downpour at the end of a cliff walk! Our room was large and pleasant. The common areas are lovely and internet worked well (which wasn't the case at two other 5 star accommodations in Cape Town). There was a nice selection of good food at the breakfast buffet. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the town shops and restaurants (10 minutes to town center). It's safe to walk at night there. There is a nice open area with benches viewing the ocean directly across from the hotel. The weather was too cool for us to use the pool area and we didn't visit the spa. The Misty Waves is in a good location with nice accommodations and friendly staff. They helped make our stay in Hermanus memorable. HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: I believe there is variation in rooms since rooms are priced at different rates. From the time we bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRW1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Already looked into the issue of the mirror;)
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback also on the breakfast.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    208
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
94
449
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at Misty Waves for one night before driving to Addo Elephant Park - as we were leaving at 5am, the staff kindly arranged a packed breakfast for us which was lovely.

We stayed in the old thatched building which had a roll-top bath - lovely!

The restaurant is an indian restaurant and whilst it was nice to have something spicy, we did feel that a seafood restaurant would suit the hotel much better - view from the restaurant was fantastic and the staff in the restaurant were very good and attentive.

We would definately come back to this hotel - this is the only hotel that actually had christmassy feel to it - the decor made the ambience of the hotel unique and colonial.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed in one of the rooms in the Fishermans Cottage at The Misty Waves for three nights at the very end of November. As it is at the end of the whale watching season, both the hotel and Hermanus were rather quiet. The hotel is no more than a few
minutes walk from the centre of town. It is decorated in rather a twee fashion but this was completely overshadowed by the most attentive and individual service you could wish for. The breakfast swlection is also good and extensive. We would most certainly stay here again, based on the quality and friendliness of the service alone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbhall72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Good location, excellent restaurant, large pretty rooms. Only backdraw was a relatively high cost for WIFI. We stayed one night and would have liked to stay one more night, but the hotel was fully booked. So we ended up at the neighbour The Hermanus Guesthouse which was just as charming.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_C21755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments as we seriously try to be the best hotel on your visit to South Africa. Not the largest but the intimate one where you get personal attention and professional care assistance. As you have surely noticed our TOTAL staff love their job, their guests and do it with a smile! (Each one on them think themselves as the owner as some have been with the family for many years.... it is such a lovely experience!)
Thank you for indicating that the WIFI rates might cause a problem.
We have immediately taken initiative even added a lovely WIFI & computer station in our library lounge adding to the existing business centre. ALL WIFI will be for free since the day we received your comments. Thank you so much we appreciate constructive critisism.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Management Misty Waves - Hermanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swellendam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I was a bit taken aback by the decor initially - it is a bit like an explosion in a furniture shop making faux Louis Quatorze reproductions - but after a while I began to enjoy the look and feel. Our room was huge and had a lovely outlook. The staff were all very helpful and polite and we very much enjoyed the Indian restaurant. I just wish that hotels would put 'proper coffee' and a plunger on their hospitality trays, and also check details like remote controls not functioning - it is small details like that which make me less willing to give five stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Awesome people, great services and 'n wonderful hotel! Loved every moment in it! Will def go back again!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coetzee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Although I've not actually stayed at Misty Waves (staying with relatives in same town) I have recommended this hotel to several other people and feedback has been good! The staff have always been very helpful and are keen to please and Samantha needs a special mention...

I have been for breakfast, as a non-resident, and it equals the high standards that I have come to expect from accommodation in South African but at Misty Waves it comes with a spectacular view!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing