We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wonderful stay at Misty Waves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I had a chance to getaway and only place that I would chose was Misty Waves Hotel in Hermanus. I stayed there for 6 glorious nights and the room was amazing with everything in it that a person needs and the breakfasts were scrumptious with a varied assortment of goodies. The staff, well all I can say that they are genuinely welcome and friendly and will do everything in their power to help and attend to your needs. I felt like a queen staying there and would go back as soon as I can. The pool and the gardens and fish ponds are very tranquil and gives you the feeling of relaxation. The decor of the hotel and rooms are amazing and beautifully decorated. I would recommend highly that everyone should go to Hermanus and to stay at Misty Waves Hotel as this hotel makes your stay complete.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and it does not matter which room you take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had my mom's 80th birthday brunch at the beautiful Misty Waves Boutique and stayed there overnight as well. The hotel has lots of character and exquisite furniture, many choices at the breakfast buffet, stunning sea view and most important for us, was that the staff were so friendly and helpful - they made it a memorable experience for all who attended the function! Thank you Samantha and staff, your cheerful attitude was greatly appreciated. Fond regards and lots of blessings, hope to see you in the near future, Judi Muller & family, Gauteng, South Africa

Room Tip: If you're a "hottie" like me, choose a room with airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Was delighted to stay in "Mon Plesir" fishermans cottage for four nights in early Feb. The hotel retains a charming feel of old style service sadly missing from so many places these days.

Made to feel genuinely welcome by all the staff who were always keen to help and knowledgeable in their advice about restaurants, activities etc.

The hotel is just a five minute walk from some great seafront eateries and bars and am happy to recommend Misty Waves to anyone wishing to stay somewhere with a bit of personality.........oh yes and they do a cracking breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We booked this hotel through Toursit Information on the day of our arrival in Hermanus. We got a "special rate" of 1800 rand , reduced from 2500 rand. The sea view room was beautifully furnished with tea/coffee making facilities etc. The spa bath was a nice touch in the very spacious bathroom but at these prices I would have expected towelling bath robes. It would have been nice to relax on the balcony afterwards without having to get dressed immediately.

Room service was very efficient. Drinks can be ordered to your room but unfortunately, there is no bar where fellow guests can get together. The in room information was out of date - it mentioned the honesty bar in the safari room but when we went to look for it we were told it was no longer in use.

The Indian restaurant served excellent food but for me, personally, was very limiting. I would not eat Indian food 2 nights running so did not use it again. The restaurant did advertise alternatives: chicken and chips or fish of the day, but when I asked for fish of the day they did not have any.

The hotel had a good library of local interest books but I do feel it would have been nice to have had a focal point for people to socialise if they so chose. It was as though everyone disappeared into their rooms after about 8pm so if you just want somewhere to sleep then I don't see the point of paying these prices. For a four star rating I think it lacked a few basic touches

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAULENEHighPeakUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Guests

We appreciate your comments and suggestions.

We are in the process of planning additions such as a lounge area with magnificent sea views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Nice little hotel with excellent roooms. Service is prompt and friendly. Made you feel at home! Definitely worth visiting!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaukokaipuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is in a very good location in Hermanus and has comfortable rooms (some with excellent views). I stayed in a room in the converted old cottage at the front of the hotel. There is a pool and most rooms have a balcony. The hotel serves a good breakfast and there is an Indian restaurant in the evening. I had a snack from the restaurant as room service and it was very good. The rooms are not air conditioned but there is a fan. The decor may not be to everyone's taste - but it is still a very comfortable hotel

Room Tip: The room in converted cottage I stayed in had the most character I think and a veranda (stoep) facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Recently spent two nights in this superb hotel - and what a stay it was. We were upgraded to the best room in the hotel, #202 - an amazing sute with a 180 degree sea-facing balcony - no complaints there ! After checking out the local eateries we decided to sample the Indian restaurant on on the floor above, and what a great meal we had. Friendly staff and excellent service, with the same view that we had from our room's balcony, just one floor up. Well worth a visit.

The hotel staff were very friendly and we had a wonderful stay, would definately return in future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £82 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing