We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a refurb !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our third visit to the Misty Waves hotel was in January 2012 and we were a little disappointed to see that the place had become rather tired looking. We usually stay in one of the bigger rooms which are very spacious with nice pieces of antique furniture. However, we noticed that the coffee station was rather understocked, the bathroom towels were thin and there was jaded feeling to the accommodation Staff superbly helpful and courteous as always. Breakfast plentiful, varied and well cooked. Pool area certainly needs a face lift and the pool has seen better days. Good parking facilities at the hotel which is only a few moments stroll from the lively centre of Hermanus.

Room Tip: Ground floor bridal suite is so spacious with excellent size bathroom. We were offered this room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest

You visited in January 2012. Would have loved to know which room you stayed in.
The total of the hotel rooms except for one ( awaiting curtains) were refurbished totally NEW floors new furniture lovely new curtaining and duvets as well as the bathrooms upgraded with exquisite tiles. All this was done in DECEMBER 2011 a month before your visit? (We received many compliments for the new rooms) However if you stayed in the rooms outside of the hotel two rooms are awaiting to be finalized.
2) Our tea trolleys are stocked as prescribed by the grading Council of course anybody needing additional items just dial 9 for immediate attention.
3) The pool was done the previous year with brand new tiles, totally upgraded, pool mattresses three months old we cannot really offer anything better unless you are referring to the entrance stairs which was a bit slippery with the new tiles and the contractor had to put some grey product on to prevent slipping. We did not appreciate that and it was removed.

Adding to this we have just upgraded our garden lighting to enhance the fairy tale (as a guest put it) effect at night time to highlight all the beautiful corners and plants at night.
We thank you for your comments and would have really appreciated you had a thorough look through out the hotel to see all the renovations done. As all our returning guests actually comment about it. Perhaps next time around.
(Hope we might soon impress them with a lovely lounge area on the top floor overlooking the total Bay area and whales frolicking - 180 degrees of pure bliss;) awaiting final plans.)

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

A most wonderful hotel with amazing old furniture from all over the world. The rooms are great, especially those with seaview in the main building. Warm and very friendly staff. good restaurant on the top floor with great view. Nice garden wth pool for those who like that. Great suroundings with walkingtracks along the coastline. We had a great time and even went there 2 times in our 1 month say in SouthAfrica. Highly recommended!
Best Regards from Kickan and Christer Forsliden from Sweden. Well be back for shure, next time when it´s whale season.

Room Tip: Very nice seaview from the suits and rooms in the mainbulding, there are also very spaciuos and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

This is absolutely amazing receiving such nice comments.

Whenever you visit again please urge the personnel to upgrade you to a penthouse suite. I especially appreciate your comments with regards to the furniture ;) To the "dismay" of my husband I always collect from all around the world on our travels and love to adorn the hotel with it. Lots of effort and love in such excursions taking up half my holiday ;)
Our personnel truly appreciate your comments and nothing inspires them more than getting this positive acknowledgement.
Would love to welcome you back and tell Samantha third time lucky you must ALSO get an upgrade to one of the Penthouse Suites if available.

Regards and thanks again!

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

For our third visit, we bought some friends with us from the UK. I telephoned our reservation a few weeks before our arrival, and Samantha could not have been more efficient in helping us with the booking. The result was that we had two delightful adjoining sea facing rooms in the Annexe for our three night stay. As ever, the standard of service in every department was superb, and there were lots of familiar faces - always a good sign ! If there was one disappointment, it was that the restaurant for dinner is virtually exclusively Indian in its cuisine. We enjoyed a delightful meal there on our first evening, but it's not what we would want every night. Not a major problem though, for the reception desk recommended a delightful restaurant just a few minutes walk away. We intend to return next year with our cousins who live in the Cape.

Room Tip: If you consider an "Africa Suite" room, do talk to the hotel about it. We chose one for ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guests
This is absolutely amazing receiving such nice comments.
Our personnel just LOVE their "job” and nothing inspires them more than getting this type of acknowledgement.
They as well as we the owners appreciate the time you took to write the comments.
Would love to welcome you back and tell Samantha third time lucky you must get an upgrade to at least ONE room of the Penthouse Suites.
(The Indian restaurant however very popular with guests also have a lovely menu with different dishes – Which is just as excellent. We will urge him to introduce that menus more specific to guests)
Regards and thanks again!
Maxie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We paid for my Mum and Dad to stay at Misty Waves,while they were staying in south africa

The staff hotel could not do enough for them and made the whole stay a real pleasure. The dinner was first class, the room view was the best in the area overlooking the sea. but the attention to detail from the staff was out of this world, I arranged the stay over the internet and they just made it so easy to organise.
My parents really enjoyed the whole experience and would recommend the Hotel to every one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewKnightLangwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guests
We really appreciate receiving such good comments. It indicates that our service and the efforts we put in to please our guests and keep the hotel in 5 star conditions on all levels, are paying off ;)
Our personnel just LOVE their "job” and nothing inspires them more than getting response and acknowledgement.
Regards and thanks again!

Clint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great views, tastefully furnished, spacious rooms and attentive staff all contributed to a delightful weekend. From the moment we arrived, we were made welcome and the staff could not have been more obliging. With secure parking, we could rest assured that our vehicle was safe whilst making good use of the local Tuk Tuk service. The buffet breakfast was generous with lovely views of the ocean. We will DEFINITELY return for another weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindiCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guests

We really appreciate receiving your comments and would LOVE to welcome you back!

Our personnel just LOVE their "job” and nothing inspires them more than getting response and acknowledgement of this nature.

Regards
Clint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent three nights at Misty Waves in February 2012 and had a lovely stay. The hotel is beautiful, with tastefully decorated, well-appointed guest rooms and beautiful public areas. We enjoyed a very warm welcome. The food was lovely and the friendly, caring staff are a great asset. I would recommend Misty Waves to anyone seeking a few days to unwind and enjoy Hermanus.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for 2nights and had a lovely stay
We got an upgrade and our room was huge and very very comfortable
Breakfast was really delish and plentiful and pool area was lovely
Hermanus was a little quiet for my liking and not much to do really ,but it was just one stop in our travels
We really liked the hotel and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guests

We and our personnel appreciate each and every comment.

You should have stayed for a few days in order for us to introduce you to this beautiful area.
There actually is quite a lot to do and can take you the best of four days;)
Stunning Nearby Adventure forest with tree slides, scenic trips with quad bikes through famous vineyards. Wine tasting on several world renown wine estates in the Hemel & Aarde Valley. Shark diving, in season whale watching,a visit to one the penquin colony at Stony Point. One of four mainland colonies in South Africa and declared a municipal nature reserve.
Even a trip to Augulhas the most Southern part of Africa. And so much more.
Next time we will surprise you!
However thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
Nothing is more rewarding than your compliments to Misty Waves and
the personnel and such support motivate them to do even better.

We circulate comments such as these to all staff and it is unbelievable how
they value and appreciate such comments. You made their day.

We as Management Thank you

Hope to see you back in the future.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £86 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing