We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
western cape
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Thank you for allowing us the privledge of the use of your hotel, we had a wonderful stay, awsome breakfast, felt a bit guilty for sitting so long admiring the view & eating. Wonderful staff, always willing to help & offer more services. The ladies were wonderful & always smiling. Thanks for the free upgrade. Mr Maliek & staff at Tikka Palace thanks for the awsome dinner.Thanks once again. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this review. Management and ALL our staff appreciate your kind review and acknowledgement as they totally enjoy giving their ALL to our guests.
Many of them have been with the hotel for many, many years and are part of this Family Owned hotel therefore the total commitment and dedication to you our guests.
Thanks Once again we would love to welcome you back!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    208
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
95
450
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellville
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We only went for a nights stay to our regret! Misty Waves is a absolute stunning hotel and we enjoyed it very much! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious! We'll definitely return soon! Thank You so much for the hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest (Geraldine)

Thank you very much for this precious review. Management as well as personnel love this acknowledgement as they truly do their best to please and thoroughly enjoy their work and guests.
Thanks Once again we would love to welcome you back!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were a group arrival of 14, on arrival we were greeted by two friendly porters who promptly took care of our bags. We were welcomed to the hotel by the receptionist an English woman I think she was the assistanct manager, very friendly. She had kindly organised for our rooms to be in the main hotel so we were all given complimentary upgrades and were near each other. The rooms were bright and spacious. Later when we came back the room had been turned down, two chocolates left on the side table & a lovely red rose. The next morning we were looking forward to a lovely lie in & my boyfriend was a bit put out to be woken up by the receptionist calling us to see if we would be going for breakfast. The hotel is beautiful, a lovely library with a great selection of books you can borrow, a PC with free internet access and a great chess board. Over all we had a great time in this hotel and I would recommend to stay, we were lucky to be have given a good price and I dont know if we would have stayed if we had been charged their rack rate. My only issues were that on our first evening their was no hot water for a shower, if you dont eat the chocolates that are left out for turn down they are taken away the next morning and I called to reception at 9.45pm to ask if it was possible to get a mineral and was told that there was no room service or no where in the hotel to get a drink even though it says that the restaurant is open until 10pm. But again over all we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this review. It is highly appreciated!
As the breakfast buffet closes at ten in the morning and some guests oversleep (perhaps due to the lovely champagne air Hermanus is known for) they usually appreciate reception reminding them with a call, we regret that it inconvenienced you. There were a problem with a water pipe during the night and it was attended to. Appreciate you brought it to our attention.
The Restaurant is outsourced and does take their last orders at 9h30 as it closes at ten as indicated in the hotel folders. We however will take this up thank you for bringing it to our attention. (Also there is a minibar in the hotel rooms which as indicated can be stocked on your arrival if guests so wish.)Thanks for mentioning the rose we love to have our guests spoiled with such tokens of appreciating them;)
Thanks Once again we would REALLY love to welcome you back!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our Garden Route tour of SA. Misty Waves is located in a great location, walking distance to everything in town. Beautiful setting, overlooking the ocean. Our room, in the annex, was comfortable. Slightly worn out furnishings, but easily overlooked. Staff are relaxed but friendly. I thought that the hotel was very good value for the money. Hermanus is a nice little town with many nice a galleries and activities.

Room Tip: Make su you get a room with a sea view. You'll save money by taking a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this review. It is highly appreciated!
The Annexe is being totally upgraded to match the beautiful new hotel rooms.
Thanks Once again we would love to welcome you back!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I stayed recently at the Misty Waves Hotel for a special occasion and we had a truly wonderful visit. It greatly surpassed our expectations.The hotel has a beautiful location overlooking the sea with a nice swimming pool set within lovely gardens. The main building inside is extremely attractive with beautiful furniture and with a small library, which also has a guest internet connection. Our good-sized bedroom was really gorgeous with a large four-poster bed and a large bathroom containing a jacuzzi bath. There was a good-sized balcony with a pleasant sea view.
Breakfasts are superb with a huge choice of food served in an upper floor room which gives a truly gorgeous view of the sea - a wonderful start to your day.
The staff are really excellent - courteous, helpful and very, very friendly. We could not have been given any better service ; we only wished we could have stayed longer in this lovely hotel.
We would recommend the Misty Waves to anyone and certainly plan to return for another visit sometime in the future. Thank you, Misty Waves.

Margaret & Gordon MacBride ( from Scotland)

Room Tip: If you can get a seaview room, that would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs MacBride

Thank you very much for this precious review. Management as well as personnel love this acknowledgement for services rendered as they truly do their best to please and thoroughly enjoy their work and guests.
Thanks Once again we would love to welcome you back!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our third visit to the Misty Waves hotel was in January 2012 and we were a little disappointed to see that the place had become rather tired looking. We usually stay in one of the bigger rooms which are very spacious with nice pieces of antique furniture. However, we noticed that the coffee station was rather understocked, the bathroom towels were thin and there was jaded feeling to the accommodation Staff superbly helpful and courteous as always. Breakfast plentiful, varied and well cooked. Pool area certainly needs a face lift and the pool has seen better days. Good parking facilities at the hotel which is only a few moments stroll from the lively centre of Hermanus.

Room Tip: Ground floor bridal suite is so spacious with excellent size bathroom. We were offered this room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest

You visited in January 2012. Would have loved to know which room you stayed in.
The total of the hotel rooms except for one ( awaiting curtains) were refurbished totally NEW floors new furniture lovely new curtaining and duvets as well as the bathrooms upgraded with exquisite tiles. All this was done in DECEMBER 2011 a month before your visit? (We received many compliments for the new rooms) However if you stayed in the rooms outside of the hotel two rooms are awaiting to be finalized.
2) Our tea trolleys are stocked as prescribed by the grading Council of course anybody needing additional items just dial 9 for immediate attention.
3) The pool was done the previous year with brand new tiles, totally upgraded, pool mattresses three months old we cannot really offer anything better unless you are referring to the entrance stairs which was a bit slippery with the new tiles and the contractor had to put some grey product on to prevent slipping. We did not appreciate that and it was removed.

Adding to this we have just upgraded our garden lighting to enhance the fairy tale (as a guest put it) effect at night time to highlight all the beautiful corners and plants at night.
We thank you for your comments and would have really appreciated you had a thorough look through out the hotel to see all the renovations done. As all our returning guests actually comment about it. Perhaps next time around.
(Hope we might soon impress them with a lovely lounge area on the top floor overlooking the total Bay area and whales frolicking - 180 degrees of pure bliss;) awaiting final plans.)

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A most wonderful hotel with amazing old furniture from all over the world. The rooms are great, especially those with seaview in the main building. Warm and very friendly staff. good restaurant on the top floor with great view. Nice garden wth pool for those who like that. Great suroundings with walkingtracks along the coastline. We had a great time and even went there 2 times in our 1 month say in SouthAfrica. Highly recommended!
Best Regards from Kickan and Christer Forsliden from Sweden. Well be back for shure, next time when it´s whale season.

Room Tip: Very nice seaview from the suits and rooms in the mainbulding, there are also very spaciuos and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
This is absolutely amazing receiving such nice comments.

Whenever you visit again please urge the personnel to upgrade you to a penthouse suite. I especially appreciate your comments with regards to the furniture ;) To the "dismay" of my husband I always collect from all around the world on our travels and love to adorn the hotel with it. Lots of effort and love in such excursions taking up half my holiday ;)
Our personnel truly appreciate your comments and nothing inspires them more than getting this positive acknowledgement.
Would love to welcome you back and tell Samantha third time lucky you must ALSO get an upgrade to one of the Penthouse Suites if available.

Regards and thanks again!

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing