We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Rooms a little stale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great View, Rooms a little stale”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed for one night out with whale season and was very quiet, ate lunch in their Indian restauranr which was nice albeit we were the only diners.

Service was good and very friendly. Grounds were very well kept with a small pool that was being renovated when we stayed.

Rooms and bathroom were huge with the only down side was the smell of damp in the room but this is probably due to the proximity of the sea coupled with the ac

Not bad and would use again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel.The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Please when booking indicate in which room you stayed before as I am sure it might have been in the Heritage Cottage in the Garden of the hotel. In order for us to upgrade you at a slightly higher rate.
The Waves Restaurant is due to demand now again operating the Restaurant with a lovely a la carte menu, and receives a lot of excellent comments.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    210
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
99
452
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TA IL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the Misty Waves. Our room was huge and had a nice balcony over viewing the ocean. Great coastal walk just opposite the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and we were given a good recommendation for dinner

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Realtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Especially all the FIVE stars:) The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

most attractive building in Marine drive which lived up to all our expectations
had the least expensive accommodation,the Cottage, and it was spacious and very comfortable.
breakfast on the first floor overlookng the spectacular scenery is as good as it gets
nice welcome from Clinton Lerm whose family started the business many years ago and the amazing Samantha who looked after our every need with love and attention, not to forget the cook,& general dogsbody Andrew . great guy.complimentary newspapers, free computer usage and a decent pool area.
see yo`all next february

Room Tip: if you get to visit once you will be hooked. the cottage was great value as will be the better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Especially all the FIVE stars:) The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back in February! Do indicate that you are a returning guest and we will arrange a nice surprise. (Maxi & Sam)
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We phoned at the last minute (18th April) and booked a double room with Katia, who was very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were well appointed with very comfortable beds. We also ate in the Indian restaurant on the top floor and enjoyed it very much. This room came into its own the following morning with superb views of the ocean together with an excellent breakfast.. I'm now glad that our booking at another guest house was cancelled as we would be arriving after 6pm! We left the car for a couple of hours while we had a walk round Hermanus. Such a beautiful place but, unfortunately, the wrong time of year for whales. We'll have to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJHyndland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

If you look for 5-star accommodation at very affordable prices, don't look any further than Misty Waves Boutique Hotel.
It has an old world charm with it's beautiful classic interior decorations. It's situated close to the business centre, right on the beach.
The rooms are large, comfortable and beautiful - with a little patio overlooking the sea.
This hotel is a MUST!!! Come and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I recently stayed at Misty Waves and absolutely loved it - fantastic location, rooms are gorgeous, staff are friendly and breakfast was our best on trip. Manageress went out of her way to accommodate my daughter with extra's - freshly made flapjacks served with strawberries and cream! Superb stay and would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelPointAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Picked the hotel by guesswork and found a lovely hotel. Rooms were well furnished, bed comfortable, view wonderful (could see the sea from the bed) complimentary evening soup, breakfast choice excellent with a view to die for. Lovely pool area, and staff extremely helpful and courteous. Overall - 5 star. Thanks for lovely few days.
Lynn UK

Room Tip: 102 and 103 were very nice, with views of the sea, but don't know about the others, except Pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing