We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

we arrived a couple of days after a big storm and our room smelt funny. I think some of the rooms had let in water previously We mentioned it to reception and they were very helpful. moved us to another room then upgraded us to the penthouse suite. Excellent location walking distance to town and whale watching cliffs. breakfast good. decor may not be to every ones taste as quite grand. beds comfy would stay again due to location and helpfulness of staff

Room Tip: Sea view at the front of hotel are best
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessanessa2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest
We really appreciate your kind review. The personnel of Misty Waves also appreciate this kind of feedback as they are totally focused on delivery and service and receiving this acknowledgement is welcomed with big smiles including all staff, starting from the Managers to the doorkeeper.
We, as the rest of SA had vicious storms and luckily we could tend to all damage and rectify where needed in three of our rooms.
Would love to welcome you back to Misty Waves Hotel.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on our honeymoon in the honeymoon suite. The first thing that will hit you when you enter misty waves is the decor and furnishings. It's absolutely full with faux antique furniture i've never seen anything like it and to be honest it was about as far from our taste as you could get. The room was huge but again decorated with these grand faux antique chairs and furniture. There was picture painted on the wall with a gold antique frame painted around it very odd. The room did have a balcony overlooking the ocean and we were left with a bottle of sparkling wine which was appreciated. Breakfast was served in the restaurant which always seemed to be empty until breakfast when there were swarms of people gorging on full fried breakfasts. We didnt spend any time by the pool area but it again seemed to be decorated with faux roman columns. The hotel is about 15 minute walk from the restaurants on the old harbour - I would highly recommend eating in Burgundy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the sea
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest
Your review is not really fair keeping in mind that décor is a very personal taste. One might walk into a home and not like a single item of the other person’s choice. Therefore it would have been appreciated to be judged as a hotel and the service we render. The fact is that guests have an opportunity to book online and can pick and choose on our website from all rooms we have to offer, the website has several pictures showing the style and décor of the hotel. If not booked in advance and when entering you could have easily walked out without degrading what we and our personnel and staff have built on with so much love and attention to guests and detail.
However to emphasize there is a reason why there are various furniture outlets to pick from otherwise there might easily just have been one large factory and all customers and hotels just be duplicated in one style to suit ONE taste.
We receive many compliments on the wonderful options on our buffet table, and I think the word “gorging” when referring to our very stylish and upmarket guests is not a good choice of language and might be deemed as an insult.
Our "faux antique pieces" are very expensive and trendy in SA and by report back from professionals in the décor world fits well with our imported antique pieces.
However we regret that we could not offer what you preferred in décor. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in South Africa.
Kind regards and a lovely 2014!

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Misty Waves as part of our honeymoon. We had a fantastic room on the first floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. Breakfasts in the restaurant upstairs were excellent and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The pool area is a wonderful place to spend a sunny afternoon and the restaurant has an amazing view with good food. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel rooms are huge and have quality furniture and fittings. You can see and feel the owners passion in this hotel. Good breakfast too and the staff are all friendly and warm.

The perfect place to stay in hermanus. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: I stayed in the mountain facing rooms. I can only imagine that the sea facing rooms are of the same...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsifJtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Recent one night stay at Misty Waves for business, but will definitely return! Friendly and very helpful reception. Spacious and beautifully decorated rooms, complete with turn-down service! Beautiful pool area. Go to bed with the sound of the waves in the background and wake up with the amazing sea smell. Breakfast was buffet-style English and was comparable to any of the major hotel chains, but with a nice personal touch. Even had lovely liver! Private jacuzzi as well as spa services. Everything you want and need. Can also be a very romantic getaway for couples!

Room Tip: Rooms with beautiful sea views available!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Once a year our family visit South Africa for holiday. Friends of us recommended Misty Waves Boutique Hotel. Our stay were fantastic and we did not want leave. The decor,love and effort that is put into the Hotel is amazing. The idea of waking up with the sound of the ocean is unbelievable. Room 501 is defiantly my favorite and recommended to everyone. Thank you to all the personnel at Misty Waves that made our stay one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This year we decided to treat ourself on our 10th Anniversary Celebration and I can honestly say this was the best one in 10 years! From the moment we walked into Misty Waves we felt home. The staff is friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. We enjoyed the peacefulness and the most amazing sea views from our room. The buffet breakfast and delicious prawns at the Waves Restaurant is most highly recommended to all. This will definitely be the first of MANY.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £85 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing