We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

There is nothing bad that can be said about Misty Waves. The hotel staff are fantastic, the rooms are huge and beautiful, the buffet breakfasts are wonderful and the view of the ocean is breath-taking. Going back in a couple of weeks time for our 30th wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: Choose any room with a spa bath and a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

The establishment was very clean
The food was great

Some comments:
The waiter did not know the items on the menu very well could not confirm the size of what was on offer (grams)
The white drape in the dining room is stained with dust and should be cleaned it does not do the room justice
The TV in our room 402 is less then acceptable the quality is poor and does not do the room justice
There was not hot water in the bath tap we could not use the bath
The shower floor need some scrubbing and some mildrew is starting to grow towards the bottom of the shower

Room Tip: Ask your hotelier to have one of the reception lady's accompany you to your room and inspect it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A great place to stay. Amazing views, friendly people, clean and luxurious. Overall an outstanding experience. Thank you for a great weekend! We’ll definitely come back again on our next visit to the western cape.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Thank you for the wonderful service and hospitality at your Hotel.

We absolutely enjoyed the stay in pure luxury. Also, the views from our Ececutive Suite was truly breathtaking. Wow!

Regards

Ricardo and Tahnee Fortuin

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have booked two nights at Misty Waves Hotel in December 15 - 17 in 2013. What a fantastic place and what makes it even more fantastic is the personal attention that you rec from making the booking to the day you book in to the day you book out!

You receive excellent service from their professional staff where you are considered as a person and not as a "number" as with most of the other 5 Star hotels.

This hotel comes Highly recommended.

Well done Management and Staff..

Room Tip: Penthouse the best, but yet all the other rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This December 2013 was my family's 3rd visit in 4 years to Misty Waves where we enjoyed our Xmas and New Year. After a long journey we were warmly welcomed by Andries the chef et al, who remembered us all by name We always have an outstanding time and the Management and staff are like family to us. Friendliness is important and this is in abundance with Clinton (the owner of Misty Waves) ably assisted by his sister, mom and dad, and his team, always ready and willing to provide us with useful information on the going on's and places to visit. Clinton always takes the time to walk among and greet and chat to all guests in the dining room at breakfast time and to recommend and to arrange exciting adventure activities for guests.The breakfasts are delicious, with a wonderful variety of both hot and cold dishes. The rooms are spotless, well appointed with lovely furniture, and even better if having a balcony and sea view which provides spectacular views of the ocean and mountains. Misty Waves also serves up a delicious dinner in its Waves Restaurant and although, at times, the menu is rather restricted in variety, it makes up for it in tastiness. The location is beautiful, central and within easy walking distance to most areas in the town. The swimming pool provides welcome relief from the heat and after a long day on the nearby surrounding beaches. In summary, we will definitely be staying at Misty Waves when next in Hermanus. The Manoim's

Room Tip: all rooms are great but obviously sea view preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Raymond and family.

We really appreciate your kind review. The personnel of Misty Waves also appreciate this kind of feedback as they are totally focused on delivery and service and receiving this acknowledgement is welcomed with big smiles including all staff, starting from the Managers to the doorkeepers, also of course including Andries and his team;)
We love to have you guys visiting and cannot emphasis enough on how we appreciate your candid comments!
Would love to welcome you back to Misty Waves Hotel.

Regards
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent our 1 year wedding anniversary here not what i expected.real luxury.friendly service short stay.but fantastic experience. The food to die for.having a meal While watching the whales swim by.where in the world will. U experience this will be back really soon

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest
We really appreciate your kind review. The personnel of Misty Waves also appreciate this kind of feedback as they are totally focused on delivery and service and receiving this acknowledgement is welcomed with big smiles including all staff, starting from the Managers to the doorkeeper.
Would love to welcome you back to Misty Waves Hotel.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £83 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing