We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
wirral, england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“absolutely delightful”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a lovely hotel!!! The staff were so pleasant, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious with a vast range of choice, and panoramic views over the bay. Our room was HUGE with a sea view, separate lounge, lovely bathroom with jacuzzi, good range of TV channels, free wifi. Everything was clean and fresh, even the hotels pet rabbit was adorable (although he lived in the car park and I was scared I may splat him whilst reversing!!!) Good secure free car parking, and a walkable distance to the centre. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doddypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    208
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
95
450
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have to be dragged abroad by my well-travelled wife. I am horribly insular and Cornwall, or the Lake District and even Scotland are my natural limits. However "You will love South Africa" assured my persistent wife. A touch sceptical we came to Hermanus but even better to Misty Waves and my conversion was complete and almost immediate! That was for one week last year... this year we came for two! The bedrooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and have beautiful views. Breakfast is superb with a rich variety on offer of fresh fruit, cereal, hot, cooked food, yoghurt, cold meats etc etc which set you up for the day. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is calm, welcoming and friendly. The charming Lerm family run the hotel and it is very much a family affair. But perhaps their greatest gift is the staff in their employ. After a few days Assistant General Manager Sam and her fabulous and attractive team both in reception and in the dining room have become friends and after our recent two week stay we are feeling really sad at saying 'goodbye' to these lovely people. Already however we are planning another two weeks next year. Need I say more? If you are looking for wild excitement, noise and bustle, or continual entertainment look elsewhere. But if you want peace, quiet, a relaxed atmosphere and a 'get-away-from-it all' hotel in the company of some the nicest people you could possibly meet, come to Misty Waves.....and all this from somebody who does not enjoy leaving the UK!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertpenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent 3 nights at hotel--received upgrade which was much appreciated. Hotel is very good quality and matched by first class staff.Food too was very good.
Well recommended, we shall return next year. Thanks to Samantha for making our stay so perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaga210511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had travelled around the garden route and stayed in some fabulous places. When we arrived at Hermanus and Misty Waves we were very impressed with the enormous room, lovely view, good quality bathroom with Jacuzzi and shower and balcony overlooking the pool. All very impressive. Everything was really nice and clean and we enjoyed the pool area. We had arranged dinner at a local restaurant, so did not go up to the restaurant until the next morning. It is in a lovely position overlooking the sea, but I am sorry to say we were very disappointed with the quality of breakfast. The crossiants were very cheap, the sausage and bacon barely cooked. Hardly any fresh fruit (it was mainly tinned!), not even any melon. The coffee was ok. I do not like giving negative feedback but they need to improve the quality of their ingredients for what they charge for B & B. It was the worst we had in this wonderful country.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandDgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest We appreciate your comments especially the five star awards you gave our hotel. Highly appreciated!! We regret that the breakfast was not what you expected however we cannot put a finger to what the problem could have been. At each breakfast we definitely have a VERY very large fruit basket with a variety of fresh fruit as well as a LARGE display of fresh fruit cut next to the yogurt to add to the cereals. This is standard!! (WE do only have watermelon when available and in season) Our croissants as well as variety of muffins is freshly baked daily. The hot croissants (definitely not cheap) even still available in the little oven. With that we also treat our guests to freshly baked flapjacks and syrup. Various type of breads. Five different cereals types, eggs to choose and omelets to choose, mushrooms, sausage, bacon, beans, chicken livers and various cold meats. A cheese platter. Juices, tea and coffee. And lots of love and attention:) We really regret that you did not experience this ample. On a next visit please indicate your preferences and we as always will assist or buy in. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We returned to the Misty Waves for a 2 night stay on 14/01/14-15/01/14. This was our second visit having first come to this hotel in Jan 13. We were delighted to see that the hotel had not changed and once again didn't disappoint us in any way. We stayed in a sea facing room on the ground floor over looking the pool and the ocean. The rooms are huge with a lovely seating area both inside and out and some tasteful fixtures and furnishings and all of a high quality. The bathroom is a fantastic size and kitted out with a huge shower and bath. The room has a fridge and ample storage space for all the important holiday essentials. The food was of a very high quality as before and the selection vast. We did not eat in the restaurant at night, as the Misty Waves is so well located to Hermanus town centre, it is a tragedy not to explore the local restaurants and bars. Lemon Butter is excellent for a Sea Food Platter and restaurant prices reasonable. The pool at the hotel is clean and a welcome break from the strong January sunshine. The inflatables are a nice touch and allow you to float in the pool sipping on your G&T's in total tranquility! Be careful of the slippery tiles and steps as they are deadly and we saw several unfortunate accidents during our stay. Excellent value for money, beautiful hotel great location. We will not hesitate to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauchie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

after an 11 hour flight on an aged BA Jumbo jet with crap seats and arriving 3 hours before check in time in cold wet weather, we were immediately impressed with how the stops were pulled out to get our rooms ready early so we could quickly recover from our trip. We stayed in the annexe and the rooms were huge with everything you could need. Breakfast was excellent and the best of a high standard on our trip. The view from the dining room is superb, and the main building has a fantastic olde worlde charm. Hermanus itself is great so all round this was a great start to the holiday. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

amazing view, full of charm, huge rooms, bathroom with shower and jacuzzi..... for the price paid, great value ! to recommend
great massage service
quiet, peaceful, breakfast place nice with view on the ocean
helpful personnel
would go again without any hesitation

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eboniver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing