We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Elegant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stated simply - this is a beautiful hotel. The restaurant on the top floor serves excellent food and the tables by the window, if you can book them provide an beautiful view. Especially nice (beside the decor of the rooms), is the arrangement of the many seating areas in alcoves that overlook the main floor creating a very lovely appearance.

Be aware that the numbering of residences on the street is not sequential (e.g. #49 could be next to #65 which could be followed by residence #3) - so Misty Waves is in reality about 2 blocks away from where it should be on any map. That was not the fault of the hotel - but does merit a mention for future visitors.

Unfortunetaly, the price we paid was well in excess of the internet price shown here - but in all fairness we just popped in and requested a room (since we could not obtain internet access having come from a hotel in Namibia which did not have wireless) - so a word to the wise - use TripAdvisor and you will be very happy with your choice.

Room Tip: Has an outdoor pool. Excellent view of the waterfront from the balcony in certain rooms (#202)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    204
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
93
436
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A visit to this delightful hotel has become an annual "must do" during our stay in South Africa.
We bought my cousin & her husband with us this year, and all of us were enchanted by the wonderful setting, and lovely sea views from our first floor suites. I was particularly pleased with the restaurant, having been a little critical at the lack of choice a couple of years ago. This has now been transformed, and we stayed in to eat for each night of our stay. My cousin, who lives locally, was bowled over with the Karoo lamb, and my wife & I particularly enjoyed their line fish. Get down to breakfast early, and the sea views from the window tables are stunning.
The service generally was extremely attentive, the rooms beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Misty Waves is simply a gem.
Gerry Smith

Room Tip: This year we had 2 sea facing "honeymoon" suites with balconies great sea views, and which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel has lots of character, rooms are really nice and great relaxation area in garden with pool.
The staff were all really friendly, breakfast area has great views out to sea.
It is in a central location and is just fantastic value for money

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, an easy walk to the restaurants in town and if you pick the right room sea views from your balcony.

The room (1st floor honeymoon) was large with a nice balcony.
The pool area is lovely but there tends to be a shortage of beds when people return to the hotel after a day out.

The breakfast was very good with eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAT876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first trip to South Africa to us along the Garden Route. We stayed 2 nights at Misty Waves and were stunned when shown to our room. It was a first floor honeymoon suite which was great as we were celebrating our Silver Wedding. It was spacious, comfortable and magnificent views over Hermanus Bay. The bathroom was as big as many hotel rooms!
Although booked for bed and breakfast we did dine at Misty Waves on our first evening. The dining room is on the second floor overlooking the bay. Excellent choice of menu and thoroughly enjoyed. The second night we ate in Hermanus and the food was just as good.
The staff paid great attention to detail and went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. If we ever return to this location Misty Waves will be top of our list and for more than two nights.
Hermanus was one of the nicest small towns we encountered for strolling around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Misty is not our usual style, but we keep coming back each year. Big rooms, with comfy beds and some great views of the bay; huge bathrooms and a nice balcony. Furniture not quite to our taste, but comfortable. Whole hotel has an "old fashioned" feel, with carved dark wood an sweeping staircases. Definitely not our style, but we just like it!

Take care which room you pick - not all are equal. And avoid the "heritage rooms" - pay a little more is my advice.

Situation on the front makes for an easy stroll into town and restaurants. On the food front, Misty breakfasts are excellent, with a great choice of food, including plenty of fresh fruit, warm croisants, eggs to order and loads of pastries. No doubt we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and upgrade your room. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent ony one night here, wished we had longer.
The rooms are large and airy, beautifully decorated and coordinated.
Breakfast was stunning, and amazing variety of fruit and foods.
Staff are so friendly, and management went out of their to accomodate us in the bar area, we only wanted a drink, as we had eaten out that night.Thankyou

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were of the same high quality(3 rooms in main hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing