We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, se facing, close to town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Lovely hotel facing the ocean.

Our large room overlooked the pool with views across the ocean. Huge flat screen TV (well, it was the wrong time to look out to sea for whales!), massive bathroom with jacuzzi and large walk in shower, double sinks.

Great views from the restaurant situated on the third floor of the hotel, lovely seafood, all cooked to order. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier.

It's a five minute walk from the hotel into the town centre, where there are more bars and restaurants (we loved Fusion for amazing calamari and mussels, plus the owner drove us home!).

Hermanus is a lovely small town, with great views across the bay. Do go to Bouchard Finlayson for wine tasting (back towards the Wine Village junction and turn right, 2km up the hill). It has amazing views across the valley and lovely, reasonable wines.

Hermanus is also within easy striking distance of Arniston (feet in the Indian ocean), Cape L'Alguhas (southernmost point of Africa) and be back in Hermanus (feet in the Atlanic ocean) - all in one day!

Would definitely love to stay here again :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leafytri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2010

A comfortable well-furnished hotel situated perfectly near the Hermanus town center and the sea.The hotel is family-owned which shows in the athmosphere.
Our room was upgraded because of our long stay (7 nghts) and it was very spacious, it had a large balcony facing to sea and private spa.
The owning family and the managing director were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pariskunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Where should I begin.From the moment that my husband and myself checked in,we were treated like royalty.As it was during the christmas period,they were full to capacity even though you would never have guessed.We were upgraded to a suite in the anex,which was huge and very quiet.The room was spotless and the furnishings were of a very high standard.As was the rest of the hotel.The breakfast was to die for.With such a varied choice,even the fussiest of diners would find something to their liking,The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and more than helpfull.It's situated in a perfect location,ocean front and only a five minuet walk to numerous restaurants.All in all,this was a fantastic break.The only drawback.We were'nt there long enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdTorfaenWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We loved the hotel, very friendly staff, warm atmosphere and excellent position.

The rooms were lovely, we had a wonderful view of the ocean.

We felt very welcome and enjoyed the 4 days that we spent at the hotel. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiegotraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We were given a room in the annexe of the hotel on the first floor. It was much better than expected. It had a sea view, it's own lounge, spa bath and four poster bed. Parking was secure and free. The staff were friendly and helped us park.

The hotel is located across the road from the sea and only 5 minute's walk from the town. It is very safe to walk, even at night. It has a restaurant on the top floor where they also serve an average breakfast. This is where we spotted a couple of whales from so ran into the town to see them closer.

For the money this was probably the best value hotel we stayed in, in South Africa. It was about £80 in total for 2 adults for one night including breakfast.

We went to Fisherman's Cottage restaurant in the town which was a small cozy authentic seafood place that did a very good seafood Poekie (Prawns, mussels and kob in a pernod cream sauce) with rice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

if you want to be woken up at night by the sound of whales, literally right on your doorstep - this is the place to be! The staff is also amazing, so eager to help you in any way they can. Centrally situated you can walk wherever you need to be.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caspertheghost26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

My wife and I had a couple of days away for our anniversary and decided on Misty Waves Hotel in Hermanus...

What an AWESOME experience. Dylan, Samantha and the rest of the staff...Guys your the BEST!!!! Great service, Great location, Great facilities. You can definately expect us back soon...Keep up to good work...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agelderbloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £85 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing