We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what it's supposed to be like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“just what it's supposed to be like”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

great... we could see the whales from our room, great attention to detail, another in a long line of exceptional days

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncananddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    209
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
97
451
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The location was purrfect for viewing the whales and walking along the beautiful coast line. The staff were exceptional in their services and friendliness. They certainly made up for the eclectic interior of the cottage we stayed in. The interior deco was a mismatched of antiques, mixed with provencial look, 70s curtains, heavy Edwardian cupboards, chinesy bedspread, odds bits of everything put together in this melting pot.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzietravellerDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for emphasizing the positive points. It is highly appreciated! The hotel does have an excellent position for whale watching and we have to concur that our staff is exceptional. They such as the owners, love their occupation and the guests, and we receive very good report on them.
The heritage cottage in which you stayed on the hotel premises is totally a different scenario than the hotel:
Guests who adore heritage usually marvel about these three cottages, which is the oldest fisherman’s cottage in Hermanus and were renovated at extremely high cost to be preserved for generations to come. (It is even part of the Hermanus Heritage walk and a visiting point indicated on the map for visitors.)
Management regret the fact that you did not enjoy your stay in one of the cottages but if just mentioned we would have moved you into the hotel within seconds! (If we had any rooms available!) Our aim is to have satisfied customers at all times and such a move would have been done without any disturbance to you. We however indicate clearly to proposed visitors booking online that these are Heritage Cottages with naturally décor, ambience and furniture out of different eras – we even provide exact photos on our website. All this to indicate the precise nature of the accommodation.

The issue of décor is a very wide spectrum of choice and solely depends on personal taste. You and the next guest might not like it but hundreds do. It is difficult to cater for each and every taste. Same as one person would decorate their own house and the neighbour totally
different with opposing ideas and style.

Please when you visit our Region again contact us beforehand and we will arrange a perfect room of your choice. Go onto our website and see how many lovely choices you will have.
The décor in the newly build (6 years) hotel is totally different from the three heritage cottages in the garden.

Thank you again for the positive input, as mentioned it is highly appreciated. Be assured that we take all other input to heart and investigate it in order to create a unique experience for our guests.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This was the only "hotel" we stayed at for our honeymoon and was poorest quality accommodation.

The honeymoon suite was large but underneath the dining room so quite noisy.

The matress was foam and not particularly luxurious.

Staff interupted us in the bath on both nights to insist on replacing flowers.

Food acceptable but nothing special.

Staff pushy for guests to do activities, leading us to assume they on commission...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Dear Guest

Management regret the fact that you had some unresolved issues during your stay. Firstly we never had any complaints with regards to noise or mattresses.
We specifically use a superior quality mattress intended for hotels and heavier persons.
As far as noise is concerned we do not even allow children under the age of eight years in the hotel in order to quarentee our guests a relaxing, quiet atmosphere. If you had any complaints we would have addressed the noise problem immediately!
and have moved you immediately to another room of your choice if you were not satisfied with your room. (if not fully occupied.)
One of the hotels huge advantages is our personnel. Their friendliness and eagerness to please to ensure the guest a perfect stay are praised on a daily basis.
If offering you ways and means to enhance your stay in our area were irritating you we truly apologise. Most guests staying do not know what an astonishing amount of activities our area offers: Such as our hotel subsidize shark cage diving and offer it to guests at probably the most reasonable rate available from R800 per person whilst it can go as high as R1400 per person. Amazing whale watching boat trips as alternative to your whale watching from the hotel premises or unbelievable flights over the entire Walker Bay with sightings of up to 100 whales in one hour!
There is a popular Adventure Forrest ten minutes away which offers the ultimate experiences in scenic quad bike trips through the vineyards of the world famous Hemel & Aarde Valley wine estates. The Hermanus Hemel & Aarde Wine Route is becoming a very popular attraction and on the itinerary of every foreign visitor and tourist. You could also enjoy exhilarating Tree Top Slides in nature. Even for the more adventurous there is paintball sessions with amazing scenarios or just a challenging game of archery. Just thirty minutes away guests can watch one of the only three land-based colonies of African Penguins in their natural habitat in South Africa. Another option is The Fernkloof nature reserve with numerous walking trails -1800 ha in the Kleinrivier Mountains above Hermanus and ranges in altitude from sea level to 842m and there is NO place on earth where so many different species can be seen growing in such close proximity. (1747 species have thus far been identified) Then there is bird watching.Hermanus offers the ornithologists the opportunity to observe birds in mountain, coastal, river and estuarine habitats. Numerous art and craft studios and galleries -mostly managed by the artists themselves. Kilometres of unspoilt beaches, coves and sheltered bays. The unique cliff path, hugging the coast from one side of town to the other. (12km) The views of sea and mountains are spectacular, and from July to November the Southern Right Whale may be seen just off-shore, also dolphins and seals.
If guests were not informed about some of these activities they would never experience the true jewels of Hermanus and Cape Whale Coast.
It is not in the nature of any personnel to infringe on guests privacy. They are very eager to delight guests with a neat turn down and small bouquet of fresh flowers, which are normally roses or orchids and chocolates. However if the night latch is on or the “do not disturb” sign is hanging from your door they will never even think of knocking. Usually guests appreciate this fine gesture of flowers in the evening as a welcome return to their room. We truly regret that this happened and if requested we could have told them to refrain from knocking on your door.

Whenever in our area again please come and visit in order for us to make good on the irritations.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The hotel is located around 10 min. walking distance from Hermanus centre. As it does not directly border the street, we could not hear any noise. Still, at the end of October were not many cars around anyway. As we arrived very early in the morning and our rooms were (of course) not ready yet, we were invited to have breakfast at the restaurant upstairs and - yeah - we could see a lot of whales - some even breaching. This was the first "WOW". The second "WOW" was the gentleness of the staff, who not only served us very well but also informed us about things to do in Hermanus. The third "WOW" was the size of the rooms - they really are big! We spent 5 nights there and had a marvellous time and it really was hard for us to leave - the hotel and the town. We had such a relaxing time, everying went so smooth and was so relaxing... So we are already saving money for the next trip to Hermanus and a (longer) stay at the Misty Waves.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhaleWatchingMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Arrived at hotel and checked in very efficiently, staff friendly. It was like walking back into colonial times with a modern twist. The room was stunning and the view even better. The meal we had at the Tikka Palace restuarant was value for money and the waiter and owner extremely friendly. The location is a few mintues walk from the central shopping centre of Hermanus but was a nice walk and vert quiet.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindahowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

For R1800 a night I expected more than a clean bed, friendly staff and a seaview! Please so something about the decor - it is cluttered and restless. The breakfast was horrible - tasteless "poached" fruit, no fresh fruit, cheese in boxes end burnt croissants. Difficult to park and get out of the parking bays.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazelHamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear Guest

We regret the fact that you had an unfortunate stay and will personally see to your specific requirements on a next visit, as it is our objective to keep our guests completely satisfied. Please next time have a look at the beautiful rooms on our website and choose a different one more of your preference.

The Hotel hardly ever receives these type of complaints regarding rooms in fact most guests appreciate the fact that the quality furnishings are sourced from all over the world. We regularly receive raving reviews in our guestbook on the interior of the hotel. Our rooms are by normal standard very impressive with expensive furniture. Please go have a look at the rooms on our website. We do not go for the minimal look but it might be a matter of personal preference. (If you want a photo of this specific room contact the hotel and you will have it in two minutes)

We have two breakfast chefs on standby and even posted at the buffet to assist if you required any additional breakfast items not on our large buffet.
The hotel offers on a daily basis, numerous varieties of yogurts with a very large selection of freshly cut fruit just next to it, AS WELL as large fresh display platters with a selection of fruit and then in separate dishes the normal "poached" such as litchis, mangos, peaches, pears etc to give a variety choice to our guests. (can supply pictures to Tripadvisor or better yet the pass word to our online CCV camera system directed on the breakfast buffet tables? Or even better the precise layout of the table if we have the date of visit as our camera system has the ability to record and store for months on end) We cannot comprehend how the guest could not see the fruit platters.
Our breakfast is extremely popular and the fact that the local residents book the hotel for breakfasts speak volumes. (Outside guests are even prepared to take later slots as our hotel guests receive preference)
As for the cheese: We offer a daily variety of 6 to 7 different cheese so fresh it still are in wrapping or so called "boxes" again a matter of personal preference. The croissants are freshly baked throughout the breakfast – any guest could just require lighter or darker if not to their taste. (The chefs would have done that with great love. This is a family run concern and a R6.00 croissant can surely not be allowed spoil the reputation of a R60 million establishment which was erected and managed with love and the greatest of care)

As for the parking – the hotel provides all guests with private covered parking on the premises and we have more than required parking bays for our guests. If you return and have a problem with the parking you are more than welcome to ask our staff to park the vehicle for you as the parking bays are standard sized parking bays similar to what you will find all over South Africa or overseas for that matter.

We would love to welcome you back.

Waves Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed here two nights, and were very happy with out choice. I only knock off one star, because of : (a) somewhat weird decor, that is a cross between Laura Ashley and faux Roman. (b) The in-house restaurant (India), which the tout quite heavily at check-in. Its so-so -- there are better restaurants in town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pab54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing