We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special little place....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently took my fiance to this guest house for his birthday and it was a very special experience! We stayed in the honeymoon suite which is beautifully decorated - lots of character- and the most gorgeous view of the ocean. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented!!! The owners- Leonie and Annatjie- are lovely ladies who were very warm and pulled out all the stops - they made my fiance's birthday very special! A special treat was when the staff sang Happy Birthday and on another occassion Inkosi Sikilele- beautiful voices!! We loved it and highly recommend a visit to this quirky, special place by the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Perfect place for wale spotting, location situated close to the see, our bed was a bit small (150cm wide), breakfast ok (english breakfast) free juice, cereals and water, very special rooms with many details, all done with love, very good service level.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had booked two rooms. One was the honeymoon suite with lots of decorations and a big balcony with seaview. Nice spabath too. Great room and very romantic. The other room was in the courtyard. Nicely decorated too but no view at all and a (too)small bathroom with a pretty dated shower, but it worked. Service was ok but pretty unpersonal. The lounge is pretty impressive. A large open space area with a staircase that would do well in a tv show. Breakfast was very good, fresh and pretty extensive. You can park your car in the backyard (where our room was). The rooms in the front are great during whaleseason I guess. What I didn't like was that they had christian symbols and texts everywhere. You may believe what you want, but don't overdo it please

Room Tip: If you really want to enjoy the place, ask for a room with balcony in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryannl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The guesthouse was very quirky and if you are into minimalism it may not be for you but we liked it. The staircase area is very impressive. The rooms are decorated in a certain style but perfectly comfortable. The management are very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. It is only a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and well situated for cliff walks. We thought it was a bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Overall we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was excellent and Annatjie's personal & friendly attitude made us feel cared about. The location is great, just across the road from the cliff top path. A computer with internet was available, also complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby.
The decor is unique, something to look at in every direction.
We had the "Corner Yard Suite" which we were rather disappointed to discover was actually in the parking lot, On the web site it is described as located in the "corner of the yard with birds whistling in the background" & I had envisaged it in a garden. The room was quite small but very comfortable and clean, the shower excellent and for a one night stay it fulfilled our needs, however, if you are planning to spend a few days here, I would suggest taking a larger room in the main building.

Room Tip: if you are planning to spend a few days here, I would suggest taking a larger room in the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_muriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Annie the manager gave us a lovely welcome and even upgraded our room.  We stayed in the rose room which was beautifully decorated and luxurious.  The bed was very comfortable and the shower powerful and hot.  The main house is huge almost like a mansion and has lots of interesting items and captions.  

It was about a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of town where the restaurants were.  There were also more restaurants in the opposite direction.  Breakfast was excellent.  There was parking in the back of the guest house and good wi-fi.

Would recommend and stay here again next time we're in Hermanus.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a very nice guesthouse in Hermanus where the staff make you fell at home. Rooms were very clean and comfortable but as a minor criticism the room we had lacked somewhere to sit at a table. We did however have a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the sea. About a ten minute walk into town but the streets of Hermanus are deserted at night and walking home after dinner can be a bit uncomfortable as the road is not well lit. That said my wife and I walked both nights with no issue. Breakfast was very good and and overall a very pleasant stay. Happy to recommend to those looking for somewhere to stay in Hermanus.

Room Tip: Rooms 4,5 and 6 have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#8 of 88 in Hermanus
387 reviews
2.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
3 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £100 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing