We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermanus Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This was an enjoyable stay. The people are friendly and it is about 5 mins walk to the centre but about 15 mins walk to where the nice restaurants are. The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mac_everton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    154
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
72
418
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We cannot give this guesthouse, or it's magnificent staff, enough praise for the superb time we spent there this week. The accommodations are first-class, and the friendliness and hospitality of those who manage and operate the place were beyond what we have experienced in the places we have stayed during our current year of traveling the globe. It is one thing to enter a room only to be surprised by how carefully and caring it has been furnished and decorated, and how comfortable it truly is, but it exponentially enhanced when the staff makes you feel like you have arrived " home." That was how the staff made us feel from the moment we entered the Hermanus Guesthouse. After four months of traveling, we were made to feel very much like we were family, and we really appreciated their hospitality. Thanks, all of you! We're planning a revisit to South Africa in the near future, to Hermanus which is an amazing, quaint community, and we will stay no place else but in this wonderful guesthouse. Our stay was fabulous! Oh, get one of the honeymoon suites. Not only are they super nice, but the views to the ocean, and the possible whales lingering or passing by are an added bonus!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palapa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently took my fiance to this guest house for his birthday and it was a very special experience! We stayed in the honeymoon suite which is beautifully decorated - lots of character- and the most gorgeous view of the ocean. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented!!! The owners- Leonie and Annatjie- are lovely ladies who were very warm and pulled out all the stops - they made my fiance's birthday very special! A special treat was when the staff sang Happy Birthday and on another occassion Inkosi Sikilele- beautiful voices!! We loved it and highly recommend a visit to this quirky, special place by the sea.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Perfect place for wale spotting, location situated close to the see, our bed was a bit small (150cm wide), breakfast ok (english breakfast) free juice, cereals and water, very special rooms with many details, all done with love, very good service level.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had booked two rooms. One was the honeymoon suite with lots of decorations and a big balcony with seaview. Nice spabath too. Great room and very romantic. The other room was in the courtyard. Nicely decorated too but no view at all and a (too)small bathroom with a pretty dated shower, but it worked. Service was ok but pretty unpersonal. The lounge is pretty impressive. A large open space area with a staircase that would do well in a tv show. Breakfast was very good, fresh and pretty extensive. You can park your car in the backyard (where our room was). The rooms in the front are great during whaleseason I guess. What I didn't like was that they had christian symbols and texts everywhere. You may believe what you want, but don't overdo it please

Room Tip: If you really want to enjoy the place, ask for a room with balcony in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryannl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
376 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The guesthouse was very quirky and if you are into minimalism it may not be for you but we liked it. The staircase area is very impressive. The rooms are decorated in a certain style but perfectly comfortable. The management are very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. It is only a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and well situated for cliff walks. We thought it was a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Overall we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was excellent and Annatjie's personal & friendly attitude made us feel cared about. The location is great, just across the road from the cliff top path. A computer with internet was available, also complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby.
The decor is unique, something to look at in every direction.
We had the "Corner Yard Suite" which we were rather disappointed to discover was actually in the parking lot, On the web site it is described as located in the "corner of the yard with birds whistling in the background" & I had envisaged it in a garden. The room was quite small but very comfortable and clean, the shower excellent and for a one night stay it fulfilled our needs, however, if you are planning to spend a few days here, I would suggest taking a larger room in the main building.

Room Tip: if you are planning to spend a few days here, I would suggest taking a larger room in the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_muriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Property: Hermanus Guesthouse
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing