We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice guesthouse on beach front and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Very nice guesthouse on beach front and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

As promised we went back with 7 other couples for a weekend to Hermanus Guesthouse. From the moment we walked in everything was perfect. A welcome drink ”champagne with fresh diced fruit” was given to us before Annetjie took each guest personally to their room. The rooms was perfectly match to each couples specification and everybody loved there room. The rooms are quite big with quality bedding and towels, some rooms had spa baths and a shower, all rooms were equipped with a TV, fridge, and some of the rooms had a little lounge area. We took 8 of the 9 rooms in the guesthouse, 5 with a sea view, 2 with no sea view and 1 room was a courtyard suite. Secure parking was available at the back of the guesthouse each room got a remote for the gate, except the courtyard suite had no parking and no remote for the gate. Luckily four of the couples came in two cars so instead of 8 cars we only had 6 cars that solved the parking problem. The guesthouse is very nicely located, near the beach, old harbour and centre of town. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was generous and consisted of variety of fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, muesli, cold meat, selection of cheese, salmon and preserves. Followed with a fresh baked croissant, bacon, sausage and eggs of your choice and coffee or tea. In general Hermanus offers the tourist a wide variety of accommodation, and I think Hermanus Guesthouse offers you outstanding quality and value for your money. What can we say- We enjoyed our stay! All that’s left to say is we can definitely recommend Hermanus guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    157
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
75
423
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was the most fabulously furnished BB we stayed at, like walking into a 10 bedroom palace but paying very reasonable rates. This, combined with the delicious full breakfast made to order and the jaw dropping view makes this accommodation an amazing value. Our hostess was gracious enough to offer us a free upgrade to a deluxe room facing the ocean. You have a clear view of the waves crashing into the small inlet and I'm sure you could easily see whales from your room if they passed by, but unfortunately we stayed in late November and they had already passed.

The breakfast is the most generous we've had among our BB accommodations with a wide continental selection and delicious omelettes made to order. The dining options nearby are also great and easily walkable; our favorite is Annie's if you're looking for an authentic South African culinary experience.

Our room was very clean, comfortable, and decorated for Victorian royalty, complete with a sumptuous jacuzzi tub. I had some of the best sleep of our 10 day trip at this BB.

You really can't beat the location, hospitality, and view of this BB. Some of the most beautiful coastal pictures I took on our trip were from exploring the rock peaks overlooking the ocean right in front of the BB.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spesbach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is just lovely & you add Leonie, Annika & Esmeralda & it is just perfect!!! What a beautiful place with a lovely staff, we loved our stay here & wished it was for longer!!! Thanx for a great first time in South Africa...
The American's from Germany :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Fantastic place to stay, excellent location, great hosts and food.
Short walk mid-town restaurants and footpaths all along the coast. The breakfast was amazing and staff so. Friendly. This is the second time I stayed at the guest house and enjoyed it just as much as the first time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

First time here at this guesthouse but would stay again. Great location for the town and main restaurants. Stayed in 7 Rose Room. The decor is appropriate for the name. Not huge but ample space and a very comfortable bed. Great night sleep. Great breakfasts and all the staff were lovely. There is also a secure car park for the guests which is great and free wifi.

Well done to all the staff for making our stay so good.

Room Tip: The ocean views are bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This was an enjoyable stay. The people are friendly and it is about 5 mins walk to the centre but about 15 mins walk to where the nice restaurants are. The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mac_everton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We cannot give this guesthouse, or it's magnificent staff, enough praise for the superb time we spent there this week. The accommodations are first-class, and the friendliness and hospitality of those who manage and operate the place were beyond what we have experienced in the places we have stayed during our current year of traveling the globe. It is one thing to enter a room only to be surprised by how carefully and caring it has been furnished and decorated, and how comfortable it truly is, but it exponentially enhanced when the staff makes you feel like you have arrived " home." That was how the staff made us feel from the moment we entered the Hermanus Guesthouse. After four months of traveling, we were made to feel very much like we were family, and we really appreciated their hospitality. Thanks, all of you! We're planning a revisit to South Africa in the near future, to Hermanus which is an amazing, quaint community, and we will stay no place else but in this wonderful guesthouse. Our stay was fabulous! Oh, get one of the honeymoon suites. Not only are they super nice, but the views to the ocean, and the possible whales lingering or passing by are an added bonus!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palapa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Property: Hermanus Guesthouse
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing